Why I Decided to Launch My Very Own Publication On Medium

Christian Sotero
Library of Achievement
4 min readMar 16, 2020

The decision never came quickly.

It took a lot of faith and patience.

But that’s how the best things in life happen to us, through consistent practice with improvement with the intention of growth.

And…

It was one of those things you thought about doing a year ago but put off forever.

I didn’t know how to do it and how I would make it work. It sounded nice until I finally sat down and did it.

You see, over a year has gone by, and I didn’t want to fall short of my goals again and find another reason to wait for the perfect moment. Sometimes it’s easy to find ourselves guilty of doing this with any area of our life we want improvement in. We sit and wait, with our legs and fingers crossed, hoping opportunity approaches us to uncross them and take us with.

But it never approached me until I did this

I sat down at my desk.

I ghosted everyone I knew and started to create the page.

Can I be honest with you?

It was not easy. It felt like I was kidding myself as I was putting all the pieces together.

So I quit on day 2.

I closed my computer and buried my head in my hands. I thought about walking over to my bed and sleeping so I could avoid the mental exhaustion that came with this project.

Then it hit me…

And as more and more minutes went by, I finally found my solution to creating Medium’s next publication for writers and readers. I took a piece of paper and made a list of what I am reading now. I listed everything that inspired me to pursue my goals and dreams. It was actually a pretty fun exercise.

Wait. It gets better…

As I looked through my list, I noticed it all the content had to do with reading stories. Whether it was about people achieving a specific goal or someone’s experience facing a life tribulation. What’s funny is how often I am motivated by other people’s experiences, so this list gave me a little clarity on how to keep myself on fire.

I began to think of the way I wanted to design my publication. This was going to require a lot of pieces. I was excited to put this together. I knew it had to do something with people writing their stories.

However, I knew I wasn’t the only person in this world eager to share their experiences with others. There’s a lot of people out there like you and me who enjoy reading about people’s lives. And more people waiting to learn about the experiences that move their spirits in an upward direction.

“Enough is enough,” I thought to myself.

“I can’t keep making excuses and telling myself all these reasons as to why I can’t achieve something. It won’t accomplish anything other than the opposite of everything I’m trying to do. Make an impact on people’s lives by sharing personal testimonies.”

Growing up, I wouldn’t say I liked broken promises, so I wasn’t going to start with myself. I had to change something current, so I could reward myself with a better future.

I poured a cup of coffee, opened my laptop, and turned off my phone. And opened a new page on Grammarly for all the words on the front page.

Maybe a lot like you, I need motivation. And I need it daily.

No, it’s not the key to success.

However, when you take action consistently, you are more likely to reach your goals and achieve the ambitions you’ve set for yourself. Just like pedals don’t move cars, neither will motivation move you unless you create the fuel that sparks that fire in you.

That’s what creates combustion (action) and moves a car (you).
So if you aspire to start a publication too, you can count on me for support. If you dream of moving to the city of your dreams, I want to hear about it. If you start writing your book, celebrate it.

Whatever goals you have is essential. And if you have to shut everything down and spend a minute in solitude like me, do it.

Thank you,

Christian

--

--

Christian Sotero
Library of Achievement

Billingual banker and passionate about living intentionally in a very busy world