6 Things That Helped Me Cross Off 30 Bucket List Items in 365 Days

Lauren Tyler
The Life List
Published in
4 min readOct 4, 2017
Photo courtesy of kaboompics

Three years ago I embarked on a major challenge. I was turning 30 and wanted to have an epic year, so I created 30 bucket list items to accomplish within that year.

It was a crazy adventure where I learned a lot. It was a test to see if not only I could accomplish my goals, but an experiment in how sharing my journey with people empowered and motivated me more than I ever expected.

Here are 6 things I learned by challenging myself to cross off 30 items from my bucket list in 365 days.

#1. Fall In Love

This is always important in life but also in any goal setting scenario. If you’re not loving what you’re doing, then you need to stop. If it doesn’t bring you joy, then move on. Life should be full of love.

Example: One of my bucket list items was to “fall in love”. Typically, most would think that meant falling in love with a human, but I found at the end of my year, I fell more in love with adventure, accomplishment, and I learned to love myself just the way I am.

#2. Be okay with change

Give yourself permission to change your list and adjust your goals (see #1). Don’t beat yourself up if something doesn’t happen just the way you expected or planned. This is your list and you get to decide what stays and what goes. My goal was to finish 30 things regardless of what they were.

Example: I purchased an entrance ticket to the Tough Mudder and all my friends backed out or were unable to attend. I substituted it with something else. Same with sky diving — it just didn’t come to fruition and it wasn’t fun putting the pressure on myself to complete or schedule something and force it.

#3. Think outside the box and add as you go

My bucket list and life lists are long. Most of it hasn’t made it onto my website for everyone to see. Some things might be personal. But I found by thinking outside the box for ideas and not stick with typical goals made it more fun and a challenge. It’s also fun to add to your list as you go if that helps ensure that you succeed in the end.

Example: It wasn’t on my original list or something that I thought I would ever want to do, but I was asked to film a wedding and create the official wedding video. I also ended up participating in a Flash Mob and on a whim in Belize I tried Flyboarding, swimming with sharks, and going on a jungle cruise.

#4. It’s okay to have a general goal

Coming up with 30 items may sound easy, but it’s harder than you think. When you google bucket lists, you find a lot of the same things and I had already checked a lot of the standard bucket list items off (ie. read 100 books, ride a horse, run a half marathon). Give yourself a general goal (or two) and see how it evolves — much like falling in love.

Example: I’m a planner but I added “be spontaneous” to my list and on a whim signed up for Jeff Goins Tribe Writer’s online writing course.

#5. Give yourself some easy goals

It’s your list right? So, give yourself some easy goals that help you cross items off when it feels like you’ve stalled out. At the beginning of a challenge, like new years resolutions, we all start off strong, but slowly our previous habits get the better of us and suddenly we find ourselves dwindling or losing steam. Having some quick and easy goals will help you build momentum back up. These items can be accomplished at any time, anywhere, and even be FREE.

Example: A couple of my easy bucket list items included getting a bikini wax (yes, I had never had one), host a tea party, and stay up to watch the sunrise.

#6. Ask for help and enlist your friends

Sometimes our bucket list items and goals are personal and only yours truly can accomplish them (ie. no one can read 109 books for me), but for many things we want to do in our lives, we need a little assistance. It’s okay to ask your friends and family for help, and even more so to help hold you accountable.

Example: I needed a police connection in order to do my first ride-a-long, a photographer friend for my boudoir photo shoot, and a slew of all my favorite people to help me celebrate 30 in style. I wouldn’t want to experience the Hemingway Suite all alone and I wasn’t quite bold enough to leave the country for the first time to Belize by myself. I wanted to learn a new language and seeing it on my list, my stepdad helped set up private Italian lessons with one of his friends (which came in handy when we traveled to Italy the next year).

Conclusion

You’re the boss. You’re in charge. Goals, bucket lists, and adventures should be fun and amazing and challenge us. They shouldn’t drag us down, stress us out, or make us feel like we failed.

Comment below with your favorite bucket list items or challenge posts. We can inspire each other to have fun while creating amazing adventures and memories.

To read the full original list of 30 in 30, click here.

Want to connect?

If you enjoyed this article, please subscribe to my blog to be the first to know when similar stories are added and catch up on other posts on goals, challenges, bucket lists, books, creative shenanigans, and more.

One more thing — if you found value in this story, please click on the “clap” button. That helps others find it. Also, I’d love to connect on Twitter or Instagram @blondierocket to hear your thoughts and adventures.

--

--

Lauren Tyler
The Life List

Digital Content Librarian by day. Writer/doer/hustler by night. Boise native. Avid reader. Futurist. Baby whisperer. Adventurer. Goal shredder. Learner. Lover.