The Backwards Law and How to Actually Improve Your Life

Jason Henry
The Life Manual
Published in
5 min readMay 4, 2020

--

Photo by Denys Nevozhai on Unsplash

I was recently introduced to Bif Naked’s “Any Day Now,” and as much as I love the song, the lyrics kind of triggered me.

It isn’t that she said anything bad, it’s just that I find the lyrics to be the very things I said to myself ten years ago.

“Any day now, my real life’s gonna start. Any day now, everything’s gonna be alright. My destiny will begin.”

By all accounts, she’s had a successful life. Bif Naked went platinum and toured the world. She had breast cancer and beat it. She’s had some trouble in the relationship department, but seems to be on the up and up now.

“Any Day Now” was prophecy.

And yet, so many of us haven’t made it. We’re still waiting for our day. But the fact that you are pursuing success could be the reason you aren’t successful.

“The backwards law” is a term coined by philosopher Alan Watts and the principle behind it is all throughout Taoism. It states that the more you pursue something, the less likely you will get it because trying to get it reinforces the belief that you don’t have it.

After all, you don’t try to get something you already have.

I wish I knew this in high school when I studied hard and only got Cs but then get As for pop quizzes…

--

--

Jason Henry
The Life Manual

Former Edu. Psychologist | Current Writer | Constant Learner | “By your stumbling the world is perfected.”