The New Success

How to Measure Success in the Millennial Era

Light Watkins
2 min readAug 9, 2015
Photo credit: Big Stock Photos

Financial

Old: How much money did you make?
New: How much money did you give?

Relationship

Old: How long did it last?
New: To what degree could you be yourself?

Business

Old: Length of employment & amount of raises
New: Having passion & purpose

Entrepreneurship

Old: Sell a product
New: Start a movement

Friendship

Old: Agrees with me
New: Challenges me to be better

Fitness

Old: Got fit using chemicals
New: Got fit naturally

Diet

Old: Good for your body
New: Good for the planet

Spiritual

Old: I have a yoga practice
New: I have a yoga and meditation practice

Living

Old: I own my home
New: I am an active member of my community

Financial Security

Old: I invest in businesses
New: I invest in myself

Education

Old: I graduated college
New: I travelled the world

Modus operandi

Old: It’s me against the world
New: We’re all in this together

Information gathering

Old: I saw it on the news
New: I researched it online

Career

Old: Follow in your family’s footsteps
New: Follow your heart

Conflict resolution

Old: Win-lose
New: Win-win

Clout

Old: Who you know
New: Who follows you

Politics

Old: Being exclusive
New: Being inclusive

Religion

Old: Intolerant
New: Tolerance

Image

Old: You have a strong resume
New: You have an influential brand

Business strategy

Old: Keep secrets
New: Be transparent

Personal development

Old: Understanding the world
New: Understanding the “Self”

Efficiency

Old: Staying connected
New: Unplugging

Life

Old: Are you getting a lot of things accomplished?
New: Are doing what makes you happy?

--

--

Light Watkins

Light Watkins is a meditation teacher, the author of The Inner Gym book series, a regular contributor to MindBodyGreen, a TEDx speaker, and founder of The Shine