‘Game of Thrones’ goes ‘Beyond the Wall’

ANALYSIS | Season 7, episode 6 of ‘Game of Thrones’

Rachel Hatzipanagos
The Lily
4 min readAug 21, 2017

--

(Courtesy of HBO)

This article contains spoilers for Season 7, episode 6 of “Game of Thrones.”

“The world doesn’t just decide to let girls be what they want to be. But I can now.” — Arya Stark

This week, we journey beyond the wall, character by character.

Sansa and Arya

Things have been frosty between the Stark sisters since Arya’s return to Winterfell, and it all culminated in this episode.

While I was holding out hope that Arya would see Littlefinger’s planted note and recognize it for what it was (a manipulation to keep the sisters apart), it seems as though Arya has played right into his hands.

“I would have let them kill me before I betrayed my family,” Arya tells Sansa.

Arya is pretty cold and downright terrifying toward Sansa in their scenes together.

“I wonder what it would feel like to wear those pretty dresses. To be the lady of Winterfell,” Arya says. “All I’d need to find out — is your face.”

The way Arya stomped toward Sansa with the dagger made me wonder if we were in for “Red Wedding Part 2: Sister v. Sister,” but thankfully she was spared.

Sansa is unnerved by her younger sister (rightfully so) and seems to be frantically asking Littlefinger for advice. Earlier this season, Sansa seemed to know that Littlefinger always had ulterior motives (she tells Bran as much when he tells her Littlefinger gave him the dagger), but she can’t see what’s happening here. She even asks Littlefinger if he thinks Arya got the note. Unless the writers are intentionally trying to mislead the audience, it appears that Sansa is trusting Littlefinger on this one.

“I don’t know what [Arya] thinks. I don’t know her anymore,” Sansa tells Littlefinger.

Now we are left wondering, where will this relationship go next? I speculated earlier this season that Sansa may betray the Starks. The subtle cues in Sansa’s clothing looking more like what Cersei wears this season clues us into this transformation. But this week, Sansa doesn’t seem to be sure what she should do about Arya. She sends away Brienne, despite Littlefinger hinting that Brienne would protect her from Arya if she had to. The Stark sisters have never liked each other, but there could still be some love there.

“Sometimes anger makes people do unfortunate things,” Sansa tells Arya.

I’m not sure whether next week’s episode will end in death, or whether the show is setting us up for the Starks teaming up at the last minute against Littlefinger. Maybe Bran will have some illuminating information. Bran knows, well everything, and he could be the ticket to helping them see clearly. But first, someone needs to talk to him.

Daenerys (now that we know she doesn’t like the nickname ‘Dany’)

Throughout the show and in the books, I’ve had many issues with Daenerys. I’ve constantly been frustrated and bored by her attempts at governing and her endless titles.

Not anymore. In Westeros and interacting with Jon, Daenerys has become one of my favorite characters.

(Courtesy of HBO)

Watching her want to run and save Jon was breathtaking. I shouted at the screen that she should have left one of her dragons behind as insurance (and she paid for taking all of them). But I thought the show did an excellent job in showing her as the hero of the scene and flipping over the cliche of the damsel in distress.

“I’m not doing nothing again,” Daenerys says as she rides off to save Jon.

Not going to lie, I’m shipping Jon and Daenerys more than any couple since Joey and Pacey. I’m digging their onscreen chemistry and to be honest, I’d like nothing more than to see Jon happy by the end of the series. Daenerys may have had some affection for Khal Drogo in the books, but an arranged marriage set up by your abusive brother is not going to compare to a relationship you’ve chosen. I think it’s reasonable to predict Jon and Daenerys will survive until the last episode, and I can’t wait.

“We’re going to destroy the Night King and his army,” Daenerys promises Jon. “And we’ll do it together.”

Cersei

Cersei doesn’t appear in this episode. Which nicely builds up my argument that Cersei has done nothing all season.

Extraneous opinions

  • Zombie bears are dumb.
  • Ice dragons are cool.
  • Someone (other than Top Knot and redshirts) really should’ve died on the Eastwatch excursion. I love Tormund, but really? Is everyone wearing plot armor now?

--

--

Rachel Hatzipanagos
The Lily

Contributor to The Lily and producer at The Washington Post. Nerdy Latina.