How Sarah Silverman responded to a troll who attacked her

The comedian chose compassion

The Lily News
The Lily
2 min readJan 11, 2018

--

(Chip Somodevilla/Getty)

Adapted from a story by The Washington Post’s Allison Klein.

A man in San Antonio responded to one of comedian Sarah Silverman’s tweets, using a one-word, profane term for a female private part. Silverman, whose comedy is bawdy and often vulgar, didn’t have a fiery response.

Instead, she chose compassion. Silverman responded to the man, Twitter user @jeremy_jamrozy, with understanding and sympathy for physical pain he said he was feeling in his back:

“I believe in you. I read ur timeline & I see what ur doing & your rage is thinly veiled pain. But u know that. I know this feeling. Ps My back … sux too. see what happens when u choose love. I see it in you.”

“I can’t choose love,” Jeremy Jamrozy responded to Silverman. “A man that resembles Kevin spacey took that away when I was 8. I can’t find peace if I could find that guy who ripped my body who stripped my innocence I’d kill him. He … me up and I’m poor so its hard to get help.”

In a series of tweets, Silverman suggested he try a support group to deal with his anger. Jamrozy told her he is antisocial, doesn’t trust people and doesn’t have friends. He said he would try a support group. Then, he apologized for trolling her.

Silverman responded:

Jamrozy went on to tell Silverman his back problems, describing his pain. The comedian put out a call to her followers, asking if anyone would be willing to help. Plenty of people did. A few days later, she followed up:

Jamrozy started a GoFundMe campaign to get $150 to help him with doctors’ fees. He has already raised $3,813.

He is now tweeting about gratitude and humanity.

--

--