Joanna Goddard: ‘I tell my kids that they’re the boss of their bodies’

OPINION | Ending sexual harassment in children’s lives

The Lily News
The Lily
2 min readDec 25, 2017

--

(iStock/Lily illustration)

Adapted from a story by The Washington Post’s opinions staff.

One best idea: Sexual harassment takes place everywhere. This is one in a series of posts about how various industries can change to stop sexual harassment. What’s your one best idea? Share it here.

Joanna Goddard’s one best idea: Start teaching consent early

Goddard blogs at A Cup of Jo.

I always want to smother my children with kisses and hugs. But it’s so important to teach consent from a young age. I tell my kids that they’re the boss of their bodies — it’s a clear, age-appropriate phrase (every kid understands the concept of boss!) and it makes them feel empowered. If my son doesn’t want to kiss Grandma, I’ll say, “You’re the boss of your body, it’s up to you.” If they’re playing with a friend who doesn’t want a hug, I’ll tell them, “She’s the boss of her body, and you need to stop.” I hope that by understanding consent at a young age, children will find it second nature to respect others’ bodies and minds throughout their lives.

One best idea: Corporate America

One best idea: Firefighting

One best idea: Domestic work

One best idea: National security

One best idea: Congress

One best idea: Hospitals

One best idea: Churches

One best idea: Wall Street

This story originally appeared in The Washington Post.

--

--