MAGICAL REALISM

24 Hours to Change My Life

LADYBUG — Competition winner for Lime Castle fiction writing challenge…

May More
The Lime Castle
Published in
5 min readDec 29, 2023

--

DALL E 3

Here I lie on my deathbed, glancing at the ladybug ring. It’s positioned on my pinky. But when I first received it the band fitted perfectly on the middle finger of my right hand.

I’ve lived a happy life. The ladybug made that possible. Waiting to see my relatives, I look back to the fateful day when Great Aunt Martha gave me the ring.

“Mum, I don’t really know her.”

“Beth, she’s an old lady, would it hurt you to spend five minutes in her company? She asked to see the younger members of our family.”

“Really? Yesterday, Dad called her an old witch.”

“Nonsense. Remember, she may be old but has never forgotten your birthday.”

“You’re right. And she sends me really useful things.”

Great Aunt Martha called me over to her bedside and took my hand in hers.

“Beth. Life is full of challenges. Sometimes, we need help to tackle them. I want you to have this.”

She placed a ring in my hand and I swear as I slipped it on my finger the centre changed from gold to a very realistic, red-spotted ladybug.

--

--

May More
The Lime Castle

Passionate about Empowering Young Women / Proud Mum / Freelance Writer & Editor / Lipstick & Powder💜 Cocktail Club Pubs / Like growing things, coffee & hens 🐔