Navigating the uncertainty as an overthinker

VeronicaG
The Literacy Pirates Crew Weeknotes
2 min readMar 31, 2023

For an overthinker not having things under control can get very stressful, However, I have always been fascinated by uncertainty, making sure it becomes clear, making sure I find the pattern, and making sure I can solve the puzzle. In my current role, I manage different projects. Some have a small impact on the organisation, some may make a difference in what we do. Can I say I manage it well? well, it depends apparently. There are hiccups and there are falls, for an overthinker, everything becomes a fall very easily, but with time and maybe with the constant exposure to uncertainty, I am starting to build a sort of cold blood. I wonder, sometimes, if that means disinterest or just that I am less used to panic. Am I getting old? I sometimes feel like the cynical Donkey Benjamin, from Animal Farm, but also a bit like Boxer, “ I will work harder”. It may be stressful at times, but the satisfaction at the end is worth every moment of it. So I wonder (overthinking) do I like to work under pressure? do I do it well? would I be productive if everything is smooth and there are no challenges? Will I get bored? All this OVERTHINKING just to say (more to myself maybe than to anyone else) that it is right to feel the pressure and be worried to make mistakes, that it is right to think that I may overlook something, that is right that sometimes I feel like I am losing my grip on things, it is ok to feel that, but I will stop and think “ok then, that is what is happening, but what is next?”

--

--