Week 1 is always busy

Angele Tilly
The Literacy Pirates Crew Weeknotes
2 min readJan 6, 2023

In December I usually tell myself “I will do this in January”, “I’ll start this in January”, or probably the worst: “It’s a problem for Angele-in-January”.

Then January arrives and my to-do list is so long it looks like a badly written poem.

I find that sorting out projects by priority and length of time it would take to complete helps.

What’s a priority next week?

My priority this month is to sort out a few technical questions such as volunteer training, Vedamo links, Wagtail and Dev. All of this are time consuming tasks that must happen not matter what.

Another big priority is to check in with the recruitment strategy: where are we, what have we done, EBI & WWW, and what we need to do next.

What can be done quickly?

Sorting out technical bits and bob will always have to be picked up as it happen, but it usually requires a quick fix.

What project(s) will take more time to complete?

Checking in and reflecting on our volunteer recruitment will require some quiet and focused time and needs input from the team. I must allow myself to zone out of notifications and block time out to do just that.

What am I looking forward to next week?

I can’t wait to see the new virtual training rolling out, and get back into the normal rythm of term time.

Also looking forward to cycle to work again (if it doesn’t rain too much that is).

Coming out of holiday always leave me feeling a bit foggy in week 1. So here is to a clear blue sky in week 2.

--

--