What I have learnt

Rema Pinnock
The Literacy Pirates Crew Weeknotes

--

I have learnt a lot. Mostly about myself by looking inwardly. I used to think it could be quite self absorbed to take that approach but have now realised that was wrong. With the right scope and by asking myself the right questions I can use the information I discover about myself to assist in how I understand others, how transparent I can be and to maintain the knowledge of what direction I am going in. This is becoming very valuable to my career journey and giving me more clarity of why I am taking certain steps and where I want them to lead me to.

I have always had an interest into others and how they live there life. However by looking at myself in the mirror (so to speak), I have actually gained more of a thirst for this type of information. Firstly to hear of good practices or methods people use to manage/cope with life, work and keeping a balance. From a strictly work perspective I am also aware that everyone has different ways of working and varying levels of comfortability within different tasks and roles. I am hoping by taking note of our differences and putting myself in the shoes of others I will be able to support others more effectively, be a good team player and form or maintain genuine relationships within the team.

The main lesson I walk with in life is that “I must keep learning”. This is easy to say but at times you can lose of sight of it. Especially if you get familiar with a task/role you can almost become a know-it-all. So, for me it is about remaining humble and open to new lessons or learning opportunities. By being a sponge I will not only benefit myself and knowledge within but this will also be of benefit to my team and organisation as I will be able to inject new idea’s and pass on any good practices I pick up along the way. I also believe that open nature and willing less to learn should stop me becoming stagnant, keep me grounded and help maintain a healthy perspective in the world beyond work!

--

--