Cappuccino in Cosy Club

Keith Parkins
The Little Bicycle Coffee Shop
3 min readJul 6, 2018
cappuccino in Cosy Club

Cosy Club, not a place I would normally be seen dead in, a fake 1930s bar, a corporate chain. But I was curious they are sourcing coffee from Clifton Coffee.

How to get in? From the High Street, into Tunsgate, then into Tunsgate Quarter.

Tunsgate Quarter, a new shopping centre, artificial and sterile, boarded-up units, a few corporate chains, devoid of people. The glass ceiling turns it into a greenhouse, hotter than the street. The only positive, provides a useful short cut.

Nothing on this level other than a Nespresso stall. Did I want a Nespresso? No, I like coffee.

From the Tunsgate entrance down a spiral staircase. Again nothing. I find myself walking back into the High Street to find Cosy Club. Only you enter and climb the stairs.

I am surprised how large. Did I wish to be taken to a table? No, I will have a look around.

I decide on a seat by an open door leading onto a balcony, fresh air.

Cosy Club far worse than I expected, so fake it is a parody of fake, so fake a Monty Python parody of fake.

At the bar, beers from industrial chemical factories. Only one real ale on a hand pump. No craft beers.

Has nothing been learnt from Wetherspoon? Apparently not.

I order a cappuccino. It is covered in chocolate. I send it back. A long wait for a second cappuccino, too large a mug, scalding hot, and yes, undrinkable.

The coffee is Clifton Village blend. Clifton are doing themselves no favours, not if they care for their reputation.

Do I wish to eat, do I wish to see the food menu? I decline.

It is then to Krema, where I have an excellent cold brew coffee.

Why is Guildford Tourist Information sending out tweets promoting Cosy Club? To date, I think nine, so many I am losing count. Yet another one today making it nine. Why did they tweet as a place for coffee? Is not the role of a tourist office to promote what is of interest locally, not act as the PR office of a corporate chain? Is this an appropriate use of public money?

All the more ironic when on Fourth of July the launch of a month to celebrate independent businesses in Guildford.

Note: A couple of days after my visit, tenth tweet from Guildford Tourist Information Office promoting Cosy Club.

Note: The following day, eleventh tweet from Guildford Tourist Information Office promoting Cosy Club. A sign of desperation by Cosy Club, free drinks on a Monday, choice of output from chemical factories, one real ale, no craft beer or undrinkable coffee. There are places worth eating in Guildford that do not have to resort to a gimmick of free drinks, for example La Casita, and if wish for a coffee cannot go far wrong with Krema.

--

--

Keith Parkins
The Little Bicycle Coffee Shop

Writer, thinker, deep ecologist, social commentator, activist, enjoys music, literature and good food.