Coffee House at 62 Haydon Place

Keith Parkins
The Little Bicycle Coffee Shop
4 min readJul 14, 2017

--

Coffee House at 62 Haydon Place

I had popped in Food for Thought, where I was recommended a new coffee shop further down the street. After a wasted journey to Oxfam Bookshop to see if they had any coffee books, they had not, I decided to check it out.

From North Street head off down the street passed Food for Thought, keep on going, past Waitrose, and there on the corner, opposite Waitrose car park, 62 Haydon Place.

Nicely laid out. Outside seating.

two guest coffees from Glen Lyon Coffee Roasters

Coffee is Square Mile. Also guest coffee. During my visit two guest coffees from Glen Lyon Coffee Roasters, a blend and an Ethiopian coffee.

They tell me they wish to have guest coffees.

I suggest try Karuna Coffee. Also Ethiopian Coffee Roasters.

I mention Caravan, which I had found in The Deli at 80 in Finsbury Park. I am told a very good coffee, which confirms my thoughts. If a competent barista, then would be very good.

dark roast Ethiopian single origin guest coffee from Glen Lyon Coffee Roasters

I am offered the guest coffee, the Ethiopian single origin. I find a little over roasted, a dark roast, and yet at the same time a little weak. Maybe it was only one shot. I would have preferred the Square Mile. Ethiopian coffee from Ethiopian Coffee Roasters is better.

If 62 Haydon Place are regularly changing the guest coffee, meanwhile Food For Thought who recommended the coffee shop are looking for recommendations of quality coffee to stock, why not an informal arrangement whereby Food For Thought stock the guest coffee, direct to the Coffee House to taste, and vice a versa the Coffee House direct to Food for Thought to buy the beans?

Whilst there, I notice a constant flow of people, more than I ever see at Surrey Hills Coffee, which when I pass by is always empty. 62 Haydon Place is out of the way, apart from opposite Waitrose, therefore must be spreading by word-of-mouth, which is how I learnt, as I would never have known of otherwise, which is good news.

They close at five. I suggested six, maybe even seven, for the summer.

The big problem with Guildford, the little coffee shops close at five which is far too early. They stand at the door turning customers away, which is bizarre. Why does anyone turn away business? But I accept, long hours if open at eight in the morning to catch the morning trade. Winter is different close at five.

There are too many coffee shops opening that know nothing about coffee. Esquires Coffee is a good example. If wish for rubbish undrinkable coffee, we have Costa, Caffe Nero and tax-dodging Starbucks. It is therefore always good to find a coffee shop opening where they are passionate about coffee.

62 Haydon Place

I am calling 62 Haydon Place. I had to go back and ask, what is this coffee shop called? It is actually called Canopy, but I think 62 Haydon Place is a far better name, and as it is writ above the shop in gold lettering, I think that is what they should call it.

There is also a problem with the name Canopy, apart from being a boring name. Search on-line and find offerings for canopies and awnings, and if that was not sufficient a problem, two coffee shops or coffee related business with the name Canopy.

They need a twitter account to alert customers of new guest coffee, plus any other news.

Definitely a coffee shop to visit in Guildford.

I am pleased to report we now have four places for coffee in Guildford, FCB coffee kiosk on Guildford Station, Harris + Hoole in North Street and Dylan’s ice cream at The Village.

--

--

Keith Parkins
The Little Bicycle Coffee Shop

Writer, thinker, deep ecologist, social commentator, activist, enjoys music, literature and good food.