Dope Roasting Co

Roasts Robusta, sandwiched in the empty space between two buildings, the original graffiti still on the walls.

Keith Parkins
The Little Bicycle Coffee Shop
3 min readNov 23, 2019

--

Dope Roasting Co
Dope Roasting Co

On leaving The Underdog, I find Dope Roasting Co, my second attempt.

But why oh why does Google Maps send me along polluted busy roads, not walk alongside Metro line from Thisio to Monastiraki?

An interesting building, not a building, a space between two buildings, hence the bare graffiti covered walls.

Interesting conversation between head roaster and owner as to why they use Robusta.

Conventional wisdom, remove the sugar, try, then ask if still require sugar.

Turn this on its head, go with the flow, Greeks have bad taste in coffee, loads of sugar. Therefore offer high quality Robusta from India, beans double the price of cheap commodity Robusta, which the corporate chains use and small chains like 200 Degrees to bulk out their coffee.

Did I try the Robusta? No. I did though check the freshly roasted beans.

I tried a cappuccino, Arabica not Robusta.

The bags of coffee poorly labelled, need more information on the origin, taste profile, roast date.

Dope Roasting Co is new, a coffee shop and roastery.

Update

I paid a return visit, the coffee served, many mistakes. I explained what was wrong. The girl who served me, as she was coming off shift, whispered in my ear, I know but that is what I am told to do here.

I often walk past, and that is what I do, walk past, as a few minutes’ walk up the road Mokka, one of the best coffee shops in Athens. Within a radius of five minutes ten at most, there are excellent coffee shops.

In England, 200 Degrees, a chain of around a dozen coffee shops serving at best mediocre coffee in the wrong size cup. Their house blend, low quality Brazilian, bulked out with cheap crap Robusta from Vietnam. Best avoided.

Dope Roasting Co

--

--

Keith Parkins
The Little Bicycle Coffee Shop

Writer, thinker, deep ecologist, social commentator, activist, enjoys music, literature and good food.