Finca El Tormento

Tormento Colombia is a single origin coffee from Finca El Tormento in Colombia.

Keith Parkins
The Little Bicycle Coffee Shop
2 min readDec 1, 2017

--

Colombia Tormento from Colombia roasted by Dark Woods Coffee guest coffee at FCB kiosk

I passed by FCB kiosk on Guildford Station on my way to catch the train. No time to stop, other than say hi. Try our guest coffee next time you pass by.

This I did next time I passed by.

The Colombian coffee was excellent. One of the best coffees I have had at FCB kiosk.

Odd though, no information on the bag apart from an interesting drawing and the name, Colombia Tormento.

A little sleuthing and I learnt the guest coffee was supplied by Dark Woods Coffee.

varieties

Castillo, Colombia and Caturra.

estate

Finca El Tormento located at a height of 1,750–1,850 metres above sea level in the mountains of Southwest Antioquia is owned by Oscar Montoya Vazques.

The hand-picked cherries are dry pulped, fermented and washed, then sun dried on raised beds (parihuelas).

FCB kiosk

Guest coffee at FCB kiosk on Platform 2 at Guildford Station.

tasting notes

Citrus flavours and nutty caramel.

Northern Coffee Adventure

One does not expect a rail company to take passengers on a tour of a coffee roastery, and yet that is what Northern Rail did, to a few specially invited passengers.

During their visit, a very very special treat. They had a taste of lot #227 from an estate in Panama. This scored a Q grade of 97, and was sold at auction for a mind boggling $5000 per kilogram.

Synchronicity. Taf serve Ninety Plus coffee, coffee with a Q grade in excess of 90. Whilst there I had the great honour of being introduced to World Barista champion Stefanos Domatiotis. He showed me some beans that he said was from their estate in Panama. He then made me a V60 using Geisha from their Panama estate. The same estate that produced lot #227. Was I served the same coffee? I do not know.

--

--

Keith Parkins
The Little Bicycle Coffee Shop

Writer, thinker, deep ecologist, social commentator, activist, enjoys music, literature and good food.