Nespresso machine at The Underdog

Amazing wow coffee from a Nespresso machine but not using Nespresso capsules.

Keith Parkins
The Little Bicycle Coffee Shop
4 min readNov 17, 2019

--

Nespresso machine at The Underdog
Nespresso machine at The Underdog

On a visit to The Underdog I commented on a Nespresso machine, shock horror.

They explained why, quality coffee in Nespresso capsules.

I tried a Panama Geisha made in the Nespresso machine. Wow, it was excellent, totally unexpected.

I had earlier noticed on the shelves what looked like egg boxes for quail eggs. These contain Nespresso capsules. On the shelves Ethiopian, by the Nespresso machine Ethiopian and a Panama Geisha.

On a later visit, I learnt that the coffee is shipped to Russia to be sealed in the Nespresso capsules.

Ethiopian coffee, 20 euros for 18 capsules. Panama Geisha 30 euros for 18 capsules. When I visited a few days later, a Brazilian 20 euros for 18 capsules.

Mixed feelings on this. Quality roasteries producing capsules for a Nepresso machine. Should we be encouraging use of Nespresso machines? On the other hand, if already have a Nespresso machine, buy capsules from third parties, use quality coffee.

But I have to admit, the espresso from a 60 euro Nespresso machine was excellent.

A few days later I visited flagship Nespresso store in Kolonaki. I asked to try their best coffee. 5.5 euros for ten capsules. It was disgusting and undrinkable. I also learnt all the Nepsresso machines are the same, whether a 60 euro machine or several hundred euros. The only difference, the exterior and maybe the addition of a few gizmos.

Several changes since my last visit to The Underdog in the Spring, Nespresso machine and capsules, intriguing digital scales, delivers dialled in weight at push of a button, new espresso machine.

This is what I like about coffee shops in Athens. Always willing to innovate, always pushing the boundaries to deliver excellent coffee.

Nespresso machine at The Underdog

--

--

Keith Parkins
The Little Bicycle Coffee Shop

Writer, thinker, deep ecologist, social commentator, activist, enjoys music, literature and good food.