Opening the box Colonna coffee capsules

Aluminium and compostable Nespresso coffee capsules from Colonna.

Keith Parkins
The Little Bicycle Coffee Shop
1 min readMar 26, 2021

--

aluminium coffee capusles from Colonna
aluminium coffee capsules from Colonna

Three boxes early in March from Colonna.

  • Peak water filter
  • Opal One
  • coffee

All boxes have remained untouched until today.

Today it was open

  • coffee

Boxes of capsules, aluminium and compostable, Upress a device for extracting spent coffee from the aluminium capsules.

I was expecting a bag of coffee. Nada. I checked my order. Yes, a bag of coffee.

Note: I found my bag of coffee in a different box.

Upress a gadget for extracting coffee from aluminium coffee capsules
Upress a gadget for extracting coffee from aluminium coffee capsules

I do not know why, but I was expecting a long slim metal tool. No, Upress a tacky cheap plastic device. Functional? I do not know.

Next, open box, set up Opal One, try capsules. Then Peak water filter, but first try with bottled spring water.

Coffee is seasonal. Colonna change what is on offer every few months to reflect the changing seasons.

Part of a series, The Kitchen Counter Coffee Shop.

--

--

Keith Parkins
The Little Bicycle Coffee Shop

Writer, thinker, deep ecologist, social commentator, activist, enjoys music, literature and good food.