A vision for the world to see.

Jimmy Qian
The Live a Life That Matters Foundation
2 min readJul 22, 2017
Jimmy Qian, Founder & CEO of The Live a Life That Matters Foundation

Once upon a time, there was a classroom. The teacher asked the students, “What do you want to be?” Some students responded:

“I want to be a doctor”

“I want to be a lawyer”

“I want to be a engineer”

The teacher smiled. However, one student said, “I want to be happy.”

The teacher responded and said, “Honey, that’s not what I meant.”

With a smirk on the student’s, he responded:

You don’t understand life.

You see, too much of us focus on how we can fit in the world like everyone else. A lot of us want to chase the fantasies of materialism, but we can never truly be happy if we depend on those things. I want to change that.

My name is Jimmy Qian, and I’m an uprising junior at high school student at Liberty High School. I have once felt confused at the purpose of life and the path I was going to take. After going through a hard chapter of my life where I was completely disengaged from the world, I learned to pick myself back up. I have developed a philosophy/way of thinking that has changed my life. Most importantly, I hope I can inspire others to do the same.

I have created The Live a Life That Matters Foundation, a nonprofit organization, in order to help others or high school students like myself to discover their own unique gift in their world and to also overcome adversity. I found that a lot of high school students don’t know what to do with the rest of their lives. These people may only listen to what society tells them to do or their family members.

As long as you are alive, you will either live to accomplish your own goals and dreams or be used as a resource to accomplish someone else’s.

I find so many people complaining about their 9–5 jobs! Is the purpose of life to really go with the flow, pay bills, then die? Everybody is allowing society to define who they are and what they should be doing in life. We are often put in a system that focuses on producing followers/workers who are exploited by a higher power. However, I am taking a step to help those people become the greatest versions of themselves by questioning today’s popular thinking. The first thing to find your life purpose is to discover yourself, and I have focused on building a collaborative community where we can help each other discover and unleash our dreams.

The purpose of life is to find your gift and then give it away.

Do you want to join me?

All the best,

Jimmy Qian

Founder & CEO of The Live a Life That Matters Foundation

--

--

Jimmy Qian
The Live a Life That Matters Foundation

Hi there! I am the founder of the Live a Life That Matters Foundation.