A Tale of Love and Hilarity: My Aunt’s Honeymoon Interrupted

How a 11-Month-Old Baby Became the Center of Attention

Simran Mahal
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub
3 min readJun 27, 2024

--

The Honeymoon Ruiner

Can you imagine an 11-months and 12-day-old child ruining someone’s honeymoon? Well, that child is me.

Photo by sept commercial on Unsplash

Aunt Bhua G, My Favorite

My dad has other siblings, and his sister is my favorite. To this day, I am still fond of her. I called her Bhua g (dad’s sister in Punjabi language).

Photo by Tim Hüfner on Unsplash

The Hilarious Honeymoon Tale

She got married in December 1988, and I fell sick for at least 9 days. My newly married aunt was all set to go on her honeymoon, the destination of which remains a mystery to me till date. Every year, my grandmother narrates this story in a hilarious way, but the facts always remain the same.

Photo by Liquid Artiste on Unsplash

The Fever and the Diagnosis

The day she got married, I fell ill that same night with a high fever, typhoid, or valley fever — I do not know. I had pyrexia (high temperature) for 9 days, and my parents consulted 2 to 3 doctors. The third doctor finally declared that I was perfectly fine, prompting my mother to explain that I was missing my aunt terribly.

Photo by Julian Hochgesang on Unsplash

A Hilarious Intervention

According to my mother, I was unwell because I could not bear my aunt leaving, and she asked my father to bring her back. My aunt and I were inseparable, and upon hearing about my illness, she canceled her honeymoon and rushed to my side with my uncle. They stayed with me for two weeks, and miraculously, I was perfectly fine.

Photo by Robin Jonathan Deutsch on Unsplash

The Special Bond

My aunt was my person; she knew my needs and wants as a baby, and I felt safe with her. From listening to the chirping birds together to eagerly awaiting her return from college, she showered me with unconditional love. She is a pure soul who loved me like no one else.

Photo by Juan Encalada on Unsplash

Thank you for reading! If you found this article valuable, I’d appreciate your support. Give it a view, clap, leave a comment, and consider following me for more content like this in the future!

--

--

Simran Mahal
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub

Mother/Wife/Lifelong learner/Writer/Active listener/Narrator/Reader