Activities I Used to Help Heal Me And Why I Refuse To Give Them Up!

Lauren Munoz
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub
3 min readJul 18, 2024

Nobody’s healing journey is identical to another’s and we all have things that helped make the journey easier. I have a few favorite activities that assist me throughout any time I’m healing and that I will continue to utilize in my day-to-day life. I don’t see myself living without these three things anytime soon.

1. Walking

People truly underestimate the power of walking! On top of all the physical benefits it has; there are most certainly mental health benefits to it as well. Something that makes walking a great activity is that it’s free and accessible to nearly everyone.

For me, there is something about getting in touch with nature that helps me heal. Walking through a path, surrounded by trees and their calming colors creates a rather peaceful ambience. Looking up at the white clouds that are suspended just beneath the heavens or the stars that wink at me within the night sky leaves me with a feeling of divinity. The scent of the crisp air and warmth that kisses my face relieves my anxiousness.

I reach out and brush my fingers along the edges of greenery and feel a sense of serenity. Making contact with the plants helps keep my mind in the here and now. Walking simply is a way for me to keep my mind at ease.

2. Dancing

Dancing has been a part of my life ever since I was a teen. I’ve always used it as a way to connect to myself spiritually and I’ve always been drawn to the movement. Dance has been used throughout history, amongst multiple cultures as a way to heal and connect to ourselves.

Whenever I dance, whether that be in my living room, improvising to my favorite song of the month or pulling up YouTube on my TV and participating in a follow-along video, I tend to have an emotional release. The blissful melody echoes in my ears, provoking my body to move as if I were music itself! I receive a euphoric rush as I let the music take over my body and I feel free of pain. Through dance, I’m able to burn negative energy in a positively way. Dancing feels like my body is made up of a powerful force made up of fire and it’s wonderful!

3. Writing

I recently, in the past few months have turned to writing as a way to unwind. I’ve found that writing has immensely decreased my depression and anxiety. Even if I’m going through something terrible, I write it down. Writing it down helps me process painful situations faster, encouraging my mind to heal.

Bottling up your feelings can hurt your mind and put stress on your body, causing health issues. Keeping your pains locked up can intensify those negative emotions and could eventually lead to mental illness, like depression.

I enjoy keeping a journal! I’ve found that when I write in my journal my mood is always lifted after. My mind and heart are open with every word I scribble on the paper. I use my journal to vent to. My journal is loyal to me and will never tell of my secrets and downfalls. Writing has become an oasis for me to escape, from the stressful aspects of life.

Conclusion

When trying to emotionally heal, find an activity that you are drawn to and dive into it. Whether it be singing, drawing, yoga- just do it! You will benefit from bonding with it and the creative aspect will help you open your mind, making you more vulnerable to spiritual growth. Your mental health is so important! From participating in my favorite activities I realized the importance of them. I will never give them up!

--

--

Lauren Munoz
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub

A neophyte writer, using it as my newly found sanctuary. Here to share my creations and seek advice. Excited to entertain and improve! :)