Cuckoo is the Most Original and Heartfelt Horror Film of 2024

The horror concept in this film is superb.

Emy Quinn
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub

--

Credit to Cuckoo (2024) — IMDb

Warning: Will contain some spoilers for Cuckoo

I wasn’t sure what to expect when it came to the late-night screening of Cuckoo. When I saw the trailer, I knew I had to watch this film. There was so much mystery behind the horror, and I was immediately intrigued.

Cuckoo blew my mind with the storyline, and its characters. The story follows a young girl named Gretchen, who accompanies her family to a resort in the middle of nowhere.

It’s already obvious to the audience that Gretchen doesn’t want to be with her family. In the beginning of the film, it’s revealed that she misses her mom, and would rather be with her than her dad’s new family.

Gretchen wants to escape from her family, but she is desperate for money. She agrees to work with the owner of the resort (Dan Stevens), to earn more income to eventually escape from her current situation.

However, this resort is hiding a dark secret.

Gretchen finds herself caught in the throes of pure evil, the resort being run by a group of monsters. Gretchen does everything that she can to find out what the resort is hiding, leading to a disturbing discovery.

--

--

Emy Quinn
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub

Horror Enthusiast. I love to learn about the history of horror, I write about all kinds of horror topics, and I love to write short horror stories!