From Darkness To Light: Learning To Love Rainy Days

Choosing Happiness in Every Forecast

Isabel Lugo Jarboe
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub

--

Image by Enrique from Pixabay cloudy stormy day in the ocean
Image by Enrique from Pixabay

Today has been a rainy, stormy day — nothing strange in the Tropics. I have enjoyed reading and writing under the rain, seeing the lightning, and counting the minutes to the thunder that follows to detect how far it is.

I remember a time not too long ago when days like this made me sad and depressed. A storm had been brewing inside me, with darkness and despair. I had no hope, and nothing but depression and melancholy filled my days.

But that was when I looked at things differently, had a negative outlook on life, and questioned the reason for living. That was until I searched for help and learned the lessons of self-acceptance and joyful living.

Photo by Jo Kassis: https://www.pexels.com/photo/domes-beach-on-sea-coast-in-puerto-rico-at-summer-20482421/

I’m happy to say those days are gone. I have learned that I can’t control external situations, like the weather, but I can control my feelings and thoughts. I have changed my negativity and limiting beliefs to positive thoughts and gratitude.

I find beauty in things but also see them for what they are. Finding beauty in adversity and darkness allows us to enjoy even the simplest…

--

--

Isabel Lugo Jarboe
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub

Retired Spanish professor, living in Puerto Rico. Writing about mindset, mental health, aging, ageism, gratitude and culture. In a transition, not a decline.