I Ditched My Heart to Find My Soul

A tale of my defeat and triumph.

Mehak Adlakha
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub
2 min read1 day ago

--

“Your soul is where your heart is.”

“Follow your heart and find your soul.” — what I have been hearing people say for ages.

Why would you desire discomfort in life? You would want to be where your heart is.

But sometimes, life forces you to make choices in unexpected ways.

I had my reasons to ditch my heart!

Do you know where my heart resides? It resides in the arms of my mother, behind the comfort zone my father provides and in the moments when my brother is my partner in crime.

While life is not perfect for anyone, my little family ensured I could have the best life possible. And believe me, there is nothing more or less that you need anymore.

The most recent photo we four have together from Nov 2023 because we rarely click ourselves! | Clicked by Author’s Brother

And then life happens. When everything is going perfectly, you, as a loving child, trust your parents’ advice.

The advice of the ticking biological clock to find a partner in life!

And here I was, with the most peaceful and amazing life, headed on a journey of discomfort, to seek a life support system outside my family, and to start a new family altogether.

And the heart and soul sync quote was no longer relevant. I ditched my heart to find my soul.

The soul they call soulmate as well as the better half, I uncovered in a person no less than a family away from home.

While ditching my heart felt like a defeat, my family made sure I didn’t just find someone, I instead find someone with my own soul.

This was a tale of my defeat and my triumph, all in one like a love-hate relationship, something I want and something I don’t.

And trust me, my heart breaks into pieces every time I am reminded that I ditched it. But my heart smiles when it sees me smiling with my soul.

(crying smile – in mixed emotions)

--

--

Mehak Adlakha
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub

26 | Owner of 'The Live. Love. Laugh Pub' | Software Engineer @ Microsoft, India | Tech Explorer and Life Enthusiast.