I Don’t Post Every Day and I Think It’s for the Best

Why I don’t pressure myself to publish daily

R. E. Essays
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub

--

Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

There I am, in the earliest hours of the morning, and I’ve pulled out my computer to put the finishing touches on my latest Medium post. I haven’t posted in several days so I want to get this one out ASAP.

This has been a common scene since I started my Medium journey, me up after midnight publishing a new story. I usually don’t end up getting my posts out as often as I would like. At the start of the week, I may have every intention of getting at least 3 articles up by the end of Saturday. But, as the week goes on, it just doesn’t pan out.


You see, I want to post more often. Hopefully, soon, I’ll get better at doing so. But I don’t think posting a new article every single day is going to be a major goal of mine and I’ll share why.

I want my posts to be longer.

I do post short, 2-minute articles at times. But, for the most part, I like to publish stories that are at least 3 minutes, preferably longer.


I’ll admit, I don’t think I’ve fully grasped how your earnings on Medium are determined. However, since the number of viewers who read your post for at least 30 seconds is a metric noted in your…

--

--

R. E. Essays
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub

Simplifying my path to being self employed doing what I love. Sharing my journey along with tips and ideas to help you do the same. earnsimple.substack.com