I Walk Down a Path…

Gargy Mudgal
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub
2 min readMar 17, 2024

A journey through the dark with self-compassion.

Photo by Greg Rakozy on Unsplash

I walk down a path where everything is dark, nowhere to look, it’s as if I am walking under a black blank paper.

I went on and on, feeling all the murk within, as if I’m absorbing it all. I kept moving forward, as I chose to move away from the void.

It isn’t easy, I trap myself with the black blank paper a lot even after I keep walking. And, I ain’t even desiring to get away with the darkness, it’ll always be there as where we live isn’t all rainbows, it has it’s dark.

All I desire is to fill the void, with all the things that makes me ‘’me.’’ over the obsidian. I’m moving to write a connection, not with anybody else but the self, because the time I’ll connect with self is the time I’ll fill all forms of void, despite the existing of the dark.

By this time, all I know is if I’ll keep going with an ink, even over a black paper, it won’t matter, and the darkness will be there, but this time, for me, it’ll be beautiful and not otherwise.

But if I fill the black blank with black ink, it will be a collision with the self, and I’ll see a negative mosaic so dark that even the blank would be better than that.

So, this time, I’m moving ahead not with the black ink over the black, but with pink, light blue, and yellow.

All the colors, igniting the dark, amidst the chaos and everything else, I’ll make me gentle with myself.

And then, in the midst of everything obsidian,
the compassionate connection with the self will grow

Pink, to assure that I believe in the self, and, as I move to connect, I move with care, even when moving my ink under the dark.

Light blue, to assure that i move with the dark, not scared, but with an inner map intact to move with calm.

And yellow? Well, I will write with yellow, when I’ll feel like I’m sinking in the dark because I know, even after being ready, that black blankness will make me feel lost.

And when the void will show up again, and when the feeling of lost will show up again, is when I’ll use the yellow to give myself the pep talk — the hope, optimism and the assurance of the self-worth, regardless of anything, regardless of any loss.

This time it’ll be pink, light blue, and yellow, with all the black and blank, and not black ink, on a black blank paper.

--

--