LIFE| LAUGH| CREDIT ALERT| DRAMA| FICTION

My Wife Had Mocked Me Sorely Until

The alert broke the jinx and defended me ‘pro bono’ (for free)

Chinedu V. Onyema
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub

--

Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

Marriage is a powerfully mysterious union of persons, ideas, ideals, conflicts and even resolutions. That is why the issues concerning husband and wife are the mother of all drama: melodrama, tragedy, tragicomedy and comedy.

Thus, there is an unwritten warning: caveat emptor (“buyers beware”). What am I talking about?

Not quite long ago, the following took place between me and my wife and daughter.

WIFE: Everytime you are on phone (online). Whatever you are on phone for, I don’t see …

ME: (Busy with myself: roaming from one app to the other on my dignified laptop …)

D ….d …d …don’t worry yourself …

WIFE: You spend all the time in the world … pressing phone from morning till night … with nothing to show for it.

ME: (The last clause was a sharp straw … quite painfully penetrating but managing to bear it)

When something will enter now, you are the one that will be dancing.

WIFE: (More sarcastically repeating herself) … with nothing to show for it … every day by day … You do not care whatever happens.

ME: (Still busy, heaving a symbolic sigh of relief)

It is well.

Forty - five (45) minutes later …

ME: (A message appears via a certain messenger app requesting for account details to effect the payment of a recently concluded contract. I couldn’t believe my eyes. I had to look and look and look again to make sure it was not a fluke.)

🎼God can do it again and again and again …

He’s the same God today as He always has been …🎶

(I sang dramatically)

WIFE: (Bewildered)

What happened? Why are you excited?

ME: Daughter, please come here.

(Hands over the phone to her )

Say what you can see from here.

DAUGHTER: (Excitedly) One hundred and fifty thousand dollars ($150, 000 …) Credit alert …

ME: (Calmly cuts in)

Not up to that …

DAUGHTER: One hundred and forty-six thousand, three hundred and fifty-seven dollars ($146, 357. 00)

WIFE: (Dancing animatedly, moving towards me, teasing me to make me feel forgiving and excited)

Wow … Chei … Wonderful God …

(Facing me, tickling my sides intermittently)

I will give you something, special something …

ME: (Unperturbed)

Don’t give me. I am not interested. Leave me alone. Leave me alone. Few minutes ago, you said all manner of things. You cajoled and made mockery of me. Now, you are the one dancing.

WIFE: How did it happen? Who sent such a huge sum of money?

ME: I don’t know … Did you really want to know? It was the people owing me. I have been chatting and communicating with them. That’s what I have been doing online. That’s the result of pressing the phone, day and night.

WIFE: (Apologetically)

I will not disturb you again. I never thought anything good would come out of pressing the phone.

Virtually prophetically, it happened and dramatically too. From my end, the money was both expected and unexpected.

It was hoping against hope. Thank God it happened. It both literally and symbolically calmed down the ambience.

The alert also highlighted the moral lessons: “No condition is permanent.” “You can argue method, not result.”

Thanks for reading.

Write for us.

https://medium.com/the-live-love-laugh-pub/write-with-us-the-live-love-laugh-pub-192d8abe36fc

Read my story:

https://medium.com/the-live-love-laugh-pub/the-medium-rules-something-strangely-familiar-struck-my-mind-recently-46604dd1bd79

Follow me and subscribe to receive my mails whenever I publish.

--

--

Chinedu V. Onyema
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub

From the influence of intuitive inspiration to the affluence of gracious Grace and to confluence of ideas, I write. "Life would be tragic if it weren't funny."