She Is My Lucky Charm

Here’s my short story of transformation with her.

Mehak Adlakha
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub
2 min readJun 4, 2024

--

Happy vibes around her. | Photo by Yayas Film on Unsplash

I was too young to fully appreciate her worth when she first cradled me in her arms.

Yet, as I grew, I have found her as the backbone of my existence.

She is my lucky charm because I owe her guidance through all my highs, and she picks me up in all my lows.

It wasn’t until I left home at 17 for my studies that I realized the depth of her sacrifices. Each passing day made me aware of the pain I caused and her value, which I didn’t realize. I am a changed person now.

Over the years, our roles have reversed countless times. I’ve become her protector, her confidant, her rock. She indeed raised me to be smart!

From infancy to adulthood, from crawling to being her support, from crying in her arms for toys to crying in her arms on my soon-to-be wedding, may this journey go on.

Me and my mom on January 1, 2024, celebrating my fiancé’s birthday with him. | Photo by author

I love you, mom. ❤️

--

--

Mehak Adlakha
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub

26 | Editor of 'The Live. Love. Laugh Pub' | Software Engineer @ Microsoft, India | Tech Explorer and Life Enthusiast.