The Rollercoaster of Followers: A Day in the Life of a Medium Writer

Navigating the Ups and Downs of Social Media Followers Without Losing Your Passion

Simran Mahal
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub
2 min readJun 30, 2024

--

From 500 to 497: Embracing the Journey on Medium

Yesterday, I saw on Medium that I had 500 followers, and I was so excited to see that. I told myself, “Wow!” This morning, however, three people unfollowed me. That is fine. I do not want to make any assumptions about anything.

Photo by Alex Azabache on Unsplash

Curious like a detective, I wondered who those people might be. I said “Eenie meenie miney mo.” to myself and randomly picked a name. Coincidentally, that person followed me yesterday and unfollowed me today. I even read two insightful articles written by her she was a fantastic writer. Somehow, I remembered their name, but I am not going to mention it.

Photo by Clay Banks on Unsplash

I follow people who follow me, and if I admire someone’s work, I follow them. I do not want to be caught in the number game and focus on my writing. I feel like we all have the right to select, just as we do when shopping around. Regardless of the number of followers, whether I have 500 followers or 497, I love magical Medium. I enjoy reading articles and always find joy in writing them too.

Thank you for reading! If you found this article valuable, I’d appreciate your support. Give it a view, clap, leave a comment, and consider following me for more content like this in the future!

--

--

Simran Mahal
The Live. Love. Laugh. Pub

Mother/Wife/Lifelong learner/Writer/Active listener/Narrator/Reader