Mulled Cider

The Local Dish
The Local Dish
Published in
2 min readDec 12, 2019

Warm, festive and looks so pretty!

I have a confession to make! I’m not much of a mulled wine fan! Having said that, I drink cider less than never but somehow I really love mulled cider, especially during the festive season, just as deepest, darkest winter sets in.

Mulled cider can be lighter and less cloying than mulled wine. I made a huge pot of it a few years ago for a New Year’s Eve party and it was a massive hit! It is best enjoyed on a cold, wet winter’s eve in front of a wood fire and ALWAYS with friends!

I always try to use what is local to me, and Tutt’s Clump Cider is not only local, it gives me a hard stare from the chilled shelves next to the check out queu at my local Co-op! I experimented with sweet cider but I don’t think it works. Dry cider is the way to go when mulling!

You will need:

1 litre of Dry Cider

100 mls of Sloe Gin or spiced rum(optional)

1 fresh, crisp apple, cored and thinly sliced

8 whole cloves

1 star anise

2 cardamom pods

2 cinnamon sticks

1 tablespoon of brown sugar

1 pinch of orange zest

Put all of the ingredients in a pot and bring to a low simmer on the stovetop. Don’t boil it! Simmer for about twenty minutes, stirring frequently. Adjust spices to your own taste. Serve and sip!

--

--

The Local Dish
The Local Dish

The best food finds in West Berkshire and South Oxfordshire! Local, seasonal, mostly nutritious, always delicious!