Vegan Mac & Cheese!

The Local Dish
The Local Dish
Published in
2 min readFeb 10, 2020

Or should I call it Vegan Mac & Sauce? Anyway it’s the ultimate comfort food!

Vegan Mac & Cheese

“Hello Gorgeous,” I said as I stirred the silky, creamy sauce into the pasta, and boy did I mean it! Macaroni and cheese is one of those dishes I’ve only been reunited with since having a child of my own. Now I wonder how I lived all of my adult years without it! It’s so creamy and satisfying and comforting.

I have finally found a recipe for a vegan version that does not dissapoint. I have always believed that when a vegan recipe fails, it is merely because it was created in attempt to replace what is a meat or dairy recipe. Eating a plant based diet is natural and delicious, but dress it up as something its not and the expectation kills the result. So while this a variation of a theme, it is pretty darn close and the only important thing to know here is that it is delicious in it’s own right! The Little Dish noticed something was different about her dinner, but said it was yummy and cleaned her plate!

You will need:

1/2 cup raw cashews

1 medium carrot, peeled and steamed

1/4 cup of nutritional yeast

1 tsp of white wine or cider vinegar

1/2 cup of water (plus more for soaking the cashews)

1 tsp of salt

2 tsp buttery spread or oil for richness

1 tsp Swiss Vegetable Vegan Boullion Powder (optional)

You will need to soak the cashews in water for 2–6 hours or overnight.

Drain the soaked cashews and add to a blender with 1/2 cup of water. Blend for at least 30 seconds or until completly smooth. Now add all of the other ingredients and blend until smooth.

Pour the sauce into a saucepan and heat very gently on a low heat until warm. Be careful as this sauce will quickly burn if the heat is too high. Add 3–4 servings of cooked vegan pasta.

--

--

The Local Dish
The Local Dish

The best food finds in West Berkshire and South Oxfordshire! Local, seasonal, mostly nutritious, always delicious!