Showcasing London Undergrowth: Paddy Ellen’s learning journey

John Ridpath
The London Undergrowth
3 min readJul 19, 2022

Paddy’s learning question:

Can applying Doughnut pricing to our shopping, with a “true” (planetary boundaries) and “just” (social foundation) price, positively change consumption behaviour?

My experience:

The learning journey came at a time when I needed to reignite some passion in my personal learning and it has certainly done that. I have so enjoyed the time spent with the people in this cohort, and with the wider community facilitated by Civic Square and co. But most importantly, I think it has given me courage to test and experiment ideas I’ve kept locked up in my head for a while. And for that I am very thankful!

How my question evolved:

I started with the question: ‘How can we consider the importance of parks and other common spaces as to build networks and community? How does this work with transitory populations who live adjacent but parallel lives?’

Halfway through the journey I started to doubt whether I was exploring something that had already been well answered in my area. Therefore I pivoted to a question based on access to food, pricing and changing consumption behaviour.

A project I’m working on:

Doughnutos Shop Concept
Doughnutos Shop Concept and Pricing
Doughnutos: how does it work?

The chapters of Doughnut Economics that felt most relevant to my learning question:

Three things I learned:

  1. I don’t have to fully separate my work and my own personal learning and discovery, and if anything it’s better for me if they crossover.
  2. Don’t be afraid to stop, change, pivot halfway through something — I don’t need to see something to the end and be stuck on path dependency.
  3. Everyone on this learning journey, both in London Undergrowth and all the other cohorts, is so interesting and has a unique perspective on the world. We need to ensure that everyone continues to feel like an economist.

Get in touch with Paddy:

Twitter
LinkedIn

--

--