Armada (Chapter 4)

Nalan Köroğlu
The Lonely Royalty
Published in
3 min readDec 10, 2022

She sincerely opened her heart to me. I can not remember all the things about her. It’s been a very very long time. But I remember only the best things about her. Humans should consider themselves lucky because of my sweet memories of her.

- I couldn’t understand why humans should think they are lucky because of your memories about Armada?

Why? Because if I hadn’t known her deeply I would have slaughtered many many of them. That’s why.

- How come, sir?

Armada was the first human I got close. And I learnt the sentimental aspect of humans through my friendship with her. Humans are dialectic creatures, you very well know that. One moment they are naïve, one moment they are wild as hell. What I learnt from Armada is, humans can switch between these two extremes.

If a person choses you as a dear friend, that person has a power to make you feel that you are precious. If not, that same person can turn your life into hell. That’s how their poison works. All the time I had encountered the viciousness of humans I thought of Armada and tried to figure out a way that can make that person change his mind; instead of simply just burning them alive.

With Armada, I felt that I am someone who deserves best. I had never felt like this before. None of my kin can make me feel this way or the potato heads here or you, I mean your kin. For most creatures life is black or white; but humans…. Their lives are vibrant and colourful, which makes them both beautiful and inconsistent.

Year by year we grew closer. She and I were the best couple those times. Other humans envied us. Not just because of our friendship; besides she was strong in every way and polite and compassionate. I was getting angry every time other humans said something to hurt her out of jealousy. But she — she didn’t bother herself to get angry. She just lived her life with joy. Eventually people started to respect her instead of envying her.

She lived long but not long enough for me. She grew old. Humans aged faster compared to our standards. She loved swimming as much as flying and was going to ocean every time she had a chance. One day, she went swimming and never came back. She was hundred and six years old and we had been friends for seventy years. But seventy years is just a fraction of the lifetime of a dragon.

Later on humans invented ships as big as us. They said that they got inspired from the curves of our bodies. The hull of their ships were similar to our bellies and their sails were catching the wind same as our wings. After sailing was invented people preferred to sail than flying with us. I think that was because they could control ships easier than us. You know, they love to be in control.

- Unfortunately yes, I know.

As I said people respected Armada and under the influence of this they wanted to make her immortal on an abstract way. Because of her love of swimming they gave her name to their first fleet of ships. I see now that they really made her, my very best friend, immortal. That’s why I can not stop loving humans and thinking they are beautiful, in a way, yes.

--

--

Nalan Köroğlu
The Lonely Royalty

Content Writer, Fiction Writer, Cowriter of “Upon an Asteroid WRIPE8” (on sale at Amazon) For other articles and books: nalankoroglu.wordpress.com