Departure (Chapter 5)

Nalan Köroğlu
The Lonely Royalty
Published in
2 min readDec 17, 2022

People made huge ships shaped like us. Some of them even had a head sculpture of dragons. They practised sailing while continuing our flights. They gradually became good at sailing and stopped flying with us. Half a century passed this way for people half sailing half flying. Finally the time came for them to departure with their ships.

Our habitat wasn’t suitable for humans. You see I am a very big creature. It assumes on first sight that dragons eat too much but we only fed on some minerals and there are lots of minerals on this little asteroid that can provide me the nutrition I need till the end of my time. But humans need to eat lots of living things. They have farms and everything now but then they needed to hunt. There were very few thing for them to hunt in our land because where we lived was a cold desert surrounded by high mountains. Our land was near the ocean but the general altitude wasn’t pleasant for them.

Humans decided to depart from our home land. But we kept a promise to keep in touch cause we can fly, you know. Whenever we want we could fly and see our friends. Distance wasn’t a problem for us. But we forgot to consider something, something very important: Time. Time is the most important thing that differs us from humans.

Our parting was dramatic. As I said before, humans became our kittens. It is too hard to let a kitty go. That was my second big sob after Armada’s death. And the third was the time when I buried my cousin. See, my eyes got wet. These memories still make me feel sad.

- I am sorry to make you remember all these, sir. We can take a break if you like.

No, no, it’s Ok. All the things had been lived and passed long ago. This is just my old age. Every year I become more sensitive than before. And I know this stone will be my tomb. Sometimes this is hard to accept, sometimes I want to die as soon as I can. Grumpy old me…

- You are one of the rarest gentleman I am lucky to meet.

Thank you young man, that’s very kind of you. But I know who I am. Well back to our topic, people went far far away from our land. We gave our blessings to them and make sure their ships wouldn’t sink.

- How do you give them that assurance? Weren’t their ships primitive?

Well, that is a kind of question I will probably never answer. But I can tell you this, we, dragons, have some talent, you know. We can do somethings that no other creatures can.

- Like?

Like the things your logic will never comprehend.

- Hmm, probably you’re right and I respect your privacy.

You have no other options.

- I assume so. Can we move on to the story?

Actually, I think it is time for a break now. I am thirsty. Aren’t you? How about a drink?

- I am sir, thank you. That will be great.

--

--

Nalan Köroğlu
The Lonely Royalty

Content Writer, Fiction Writer, Cowriter of “Upon an Asteroid WRIPE8” (on sale at Amazon) For other articles and books: nalankoroglu.wordpress.com