Fire (Chapter 12)

Nalan Köroğlu
The Lonely Royalty
Published in
2 min readApr 22, 2023

All of a sudden we became deities. I didn’t expect that none of us did. But you know dragons love comfort and we like that role because humans started to make our life very comfortable. Now it was our time to become their kitties.

They built temples for each of us separately. I mean they built temples for every member of my pack. I suspect that they knew other packs. Because they didn’t engage with humans till they had no other option. Back then we were the only pack which fraternized with humans. Maybe it is better for us not to.

  • That wasn’t under your control, Sir. They came to you, didn’t they?

Yes. But it was our choice to build friendship with them. We could just ignore them or give them food and then move away. We didn’t, did we? It is our fault what had happened to us.

  • Fault? Humans would find you anyway. You just wanted to treat well.

Well, you have a point there. Nevertheless we made mistakes. Too many mistakes…

The temples… I was telling you about the temples.

Humans carved and polished the caves we had been already living. They decorate the caves with gems and gold and silver. They burrowed holes for sunlight to illuminate the caves. It was magnificent. Light was pouring from the burrows and flowing through the gems. Finally it was falling on the silver and gold ground.

Walking into a temple was like flying above the clouds near the sun. Everywhere was glooming with lots of colours. They didn’t forgot to make places to rest. There were nests in every temple for one dragon to rest. Nests were under shadows. No light could reach and made a dragon restless.

They named the temples, of course. I couldn’t remember all the temples’ names but the very first temple was my cousins. He was still the best friendly dragon for humans. His temple was called “Dost”. It means deep friendship in my language. The name of our pack’s leader’s temple was “Bilge”. It means wise. She was the wisest dragon of all, I think.

My temple’s name was a little bit embarrassing. I am not sure ıf I should make this name recorded.

  • You don’t need to Sir, if you are uncomfortable with it.

Aren’t you curious?

  • Of course I am curious, but I can’t force you to tell me something you don’t want to Sir.

Ahh! If you were a human you would force me; you would force me to death.

What happened is happened. It won’t change the past if I hide the name. So I am saying it. My temple’s name was “Od”. It means fire.

  • This is a very suitable name for a dragon. Why do you feel ashamed?

Because humans named temple because of my fury. I was a very big and furious creature. In addition to that I literally spit fire whenever I was angry. And I was always angry.

--

--

Nalan Köroğlu
The Lonely Royalty

Content Writer, Fiction Writer, Cowriter of “Upon an Asteroid WRIPE8” (on sale at Amazon) For other articles and books: nalankoroglu.wordpress.com