First Look (Chapter 2)

Nalan Köroğlu
The Lonely Royalty
Published in
2 min readNov 25, 2022

My cousin was now closer to them and I was getting bit nervous lest the humans would become afraid of that green giant ambling towards them. But I was still hearing their voice begging for food and water.

The scene was like from sci-fi movie named Creatures From Far Away (but you know we wouldn’t know about movies until people invented them).

All of a sudden humans stopped wailing and begging. No chatter, no movement; they stood still like they are all frozen or turned into stone. When I realized this I took a deep breath and held it. It was a very deep breath actually and the air started to press against my lungs immediately. I looked around and saw all the members of my pack were holding their breaths as well; except my cousin. He was still walking with his palms up.

He paused when he was only one step away from humans. Then he gently crouched down and lowered his big, green face to the level of humans. He was smart though, he didn’t stare hard at them like we all did at that moment. He blinked his eyelids gently and thoughtfully and said in a kind voice “Hello!”

All the humans hurriedly covered their ears with their tiny, stiff hands; their faces grimacing. My cousin’s voice was too loud for them to bear.

He tried again with a voice like a whisper to us and said “Hello!” again. One of the men stepped forward and held out his hands and said “Hello!” with a clear voice. They looked deep into each other’s eyes. My cousin smiled and the man returned the smile.

You can not imagine how dreadful that scene seemed to me. I couldn’t bear to watch it anymore and turned my head towards the other members of my pack. We exchanged glances fraught with fear and suspicion. Then I looked back at my cousin and saw that man was touching his hand. That was enough for me to take action.

I roared and started to run towards those skinny brown creatures. I was going to tear their heads. But one gesture riveted me to the ground. It was my cousin’s hand. He saw me and he raised his hand that tells me to stop. His moves were very calm and gentle. I did nothing but stop and with a surprise I realized that I was next to my kin and the brown little man was right in front of me.

Humans didn’t seem disgusting up close. On the contrary they looked beautiful. Humans are really beautiful. Sometimes I wish we were still be friends with them.

Anyways, I imitated my cousin’s behaviour and made eye contact with that first man who was in front. I still had my fears while looking into those deep brown eyes but I found some courage in the midst of my chest and whispered “Hello!”.

That’s how I remember the beginnings of our long lost relationship.

--

--

Nalan Köroğlu
The Lonely Royalty

Content Writer, Fiction Writer, Cowriter of “Upon an Asteroid WRIPE8” (on sale at Amazon) For other articles and books: nalankoroglu.wordpress.com