Longing (Chapter 7)

Nalan Köroğlu
The Lonely Royalty
Published in
2 min readDec 31, 2022

These potato heads are fun, but not enough for me. But I got used to it, I have no other options, you know. Either I’ll get along with them or I will be lonely. On Earth, there is too many options. But these days people think no one needs anyone. They will understand the value of relationships, they always do.

- Do you miss those days?

You mean my life on Earth?

- Yes, Sir.

Well, I miss the deep conversation I made with the smart people, especially Armada. The real thing I am longing for is another being from my race. Only another dragon can cure the loneliness of a dragon. At least I wanted to see Earth as a dot. I can’t see Earth here. Your planet, Mars, comes between Alain Fournier and Earth frequently.

- Isn’t there any other dragons besides you?

That is the question I want to know also. I only know my pack. I heard rumours about other packs but that was a long long time ago. I haven’t heard a single news about my kin for centuries, except in legends or fantasies which may be true. I would love them to be true. Maybe, after you publish our interview some of my kin will get in touch with me, who knows.

After two centuries that I settled here, the last member of my pack said farewell to life.

- Was he on Earth?

No. She was living on an asteroid like me. She settled on asteroid 10656. She was the one who told me there was an empty asteroid near enriched with the minerals we need. I was hiding on Mars back then. So I listened her advice and came here. We had visited each other just for once. The second time I went to her asteroid I found her skeleton.

Till the humans came here on foot and found me, nobody knew that I had been living here. After the death of my pack’s last member, I didn’t try to get in touch with anyone. Because I was afraid, you know. If humans’ rage was lighten up towards us and kill my kin. Or some other bad thing happened I’ll never know. So I lived quietly here with these potatoes.

There are other things I am longing for like the texture of a tree or colour of clouds in winter. Temples that was named after dragons and the life I had in there like a true king. Well, I will repeat again. People are really beautiful. You should visit the dragon temples they built for us.

The first dragon temples was made to honour us wasn’t magnificent much. It was just a big cave with gems in it. But they developed their skills and built statues looks exactly like us and had the same measurements with us. You wouldn’t tell from afar if it was a real dragon or a stone.

Those days were the best days of my life on Earth. I really long for them.

--

--

Nalan Köroğlu
The Lonely Royalty

Content Writer, Fiction Writer, Cowriter of “Upon an Asteroid WRIPE8” (on sale at Amazon) For other articles and books: nalankoroglu.wordpress.com