Siblings (Chapter 10)

Nalan Köroğlu
The Lonely Royalty
Published in
3 min readApr 8, 2023
  • I began to understand the power of words. But still very complicated for me.

Yes, it is something you have to live. You have to live with humans to completely understand what it really means.

  • As our conversation continues I started to consider of living for a while on Earth with humans.

I do recommend that. You would have so much experience that you couldn’t get from some other way.

  • Sir, while you are telling about your games you said your friends had siblings, didn’t you?

Well… I could have but I didn’t.

  • Something happened to them?

This is a very old story that mom told me just once. I need time to remember. Let me tell you that I may not remember all the details or I may remember some of the details wrong. Do you still want me to tell you my mom’s story?

  • Yes, Sir. Please.

Well then… İt is very old so I will start with… Once upon a time a dragoness spawned three eggs. It was unusual because dragonesses usually spawn at least four to six eggs. And only two or three of them would hedge. This three egged dragoness was nervous about her eggs. It was a high possibility that none of her eggs would hedge. And dragon race was about to extinct through those difficult years after the asteroid impact on Earth.

  • Sorry sir, I have to interrupt. Asteroid impact is real or you made it up?

Yeah, it is real. It is on the records. I didn’t see those days but our elders were telling it to us.

  • On the records there is only one asteroid impact. Which had killed the dinosaurs.

Yeah, that’s the one.

  • You have seen those days?

No, no, no… It was a few century after the impact. But the impact affected all the big creatures. And you know time is different for you than for me. It is too long for you but not long enough for dragon race to recover from that perish.

  • Oh, I see. Please move on.

As I said, those years were difficult for dragon race. They are faced with extinction. There was still hope if at least two of all dragonesses’ eggs would hedge. For my mom two of three wasn’t a good possibility. Even one of three was a good chance.

All the dragonesses built their nests in sheltered areas as safe as possible. When the time came dragonesses laid on their eggs and dragons took good care of them and regarded them from possible dangers. While they all were waiting with hope a calamity beyond dragons’ power had occurred.

It was a tornado heading to the nests. Dragons and dragonesses tried to carry them far away from the whirling wind. But the wind was wild and it took the nest which my mom and three eggs were in. They turned and turned and turned… Dragons started to chase the wind to rescue them. They were flying around the whirl but it was too strong to dive in.

Eventually the wind stopped so the dragons. They were thousand miles away from their land. There, on the ground was laying my mom with only one egg wrapped in her arms. Dragons immediately took her back to the land. Lucky of her, the dragoness and her only egg was unharmed and the egg hedged when the time came.

  • Beautiful story.

What can I say, I am a lucky man; kinda. But I always thought and still think that this is a story that my mom made up so I didn’t feel bad about being the only child around my friends.

--

--

Nalan Köroğlu
The Lonely Royalty

Content Writer, Fiction Writer, Cowriter of “Upon an Asteroid WRIPE8” (on sale at Amazon) For other articles and books: nalankoroglu.wordpress.com