Temple of OD (Chapter 13)

Nalan Köroğlu
The Lonely Royalty
Published in
2 min readApr 29, 2023

The very first time that I witnessed the beauties that humans make was the first time I step into my temple. It was enchanted. I never felt that precious before. That was not just because humans built us temples that was how they treated towards us. They treated us like we were a part of their treasure. Those years were best years of my life.

Inside and outside the temples there were lots of miniature dragons. Inner statues were altars. Humans who visited us put coins inside their mouths and made wishes. Wishes that they believe only we could make them happen. Or we should make them happen. Frankly, most of their wishes were dark desires of their hearts and none of us have such a power.

The outer statues were fountains for who came from far away. To refresh the passengers. Water were streaming out of minidragon’s mouths and if it is sunny drops met the sun and shone like diamonds. Visitors first saw those diamond fountains from afar and after a long journey, those shiny drops were a miracle to them. Before going into the temple they always quenched their thirst. Some of them bathed under the dragons’ mouths.

All the temples’ entrance were have at least two of these magnificent fountains except mine. Mine didn’t have any.

  • Why not, Sir? Didn’t you like them?

Oh, no. I was very fond of those fountains. Do you remember what was my temple’s name?

  • It was fire.

Fire, indeed. Than guess what was pouring from my miniature dragons’ mouths?

  • Fire?

Exactly! Fire. My temple was worthy of its name. It was magnificent and dreadful. The very first thing passengers saw from afar was a fire splitting dragon. After all the way they came through barren lands, they met fire. They could also see the fountain dragons. Which one will they choose?

  • Fountains of course.

Fountains, yes. That’s why I had very little guests.

  • But you said those years were the best years of your life? But now you say you had very little guests?

Why do you think too many guests is a good think?

  • Well, I didn’t think that. I thought loneliness is bad.

You think I was lonely because I had very few guests.

  • That’s right.

Wrong. It was a blessing for me.

  • Because you love to be alone?

No, because only the bravest humans came in to my temple. So they didn’t afraid of me either and we could have conversations. After Armada’s death I could become friends with humans thanks to my dreadful temple. Before that, I told you humans got alienated with us and I became grimmer. No one was talking to me because of my fury.

In y temple I felt comfortable and safe, safe enough to be my true self. Only the bravest humans saw my true self and talked with me. I became friends many of them and their children. But alas! After a few generation shadow of estrangement fell between us.

--

--

Nalan Köroğlu
The Lonely Royalty

Content Writer, Fiction Writer, Cowriter of “Upon an Asteroid WRIPE8” (on sale at Amazon) For other articles and books: nalankoroglu.wordpress.com