FTW: COMMENCEMENT EXERCISES (Batch 3) by KC Costales

Marge Friginal-Sanchez
John Clements Lookingglass
2 min readMar 1, 2020

For The Women Foundation (FTW) is a Philippine nonprofit organization that provides free data science and AI training for women. I count myself lucky to be invited to attend the recent Batch 3 Commencement Exercises. I admire the fact that the organization not only supports women but also develops women to be more competitive and successful in their careers, specifically in the field of data science.

Part of the program was a presentation on capstone projects: there were several topics related to electricity, fighting dengue, recruitment, and earthquakes to name a few. Aside from recruitment, which is obviously close to my heart, one of the projects that caught my attention was about earthquakes in the southern part of Mindanao.

The capstone project related to earthquakes is meant to prepare people when, or if, such an event happens. I find this topic important as I have relatives in Matanao, Davao del Sur, who were affected by the magnitude 6.9 earthquake that happened in the last quarter of 2019. Before that, several earthquakes already occurred in Mindanao. I said to myself, this project can SAVE LIVES.

Overall, the projects presented are relevant, and some are even noble. I am glad to know that there is an organization like FTW.

Please visit and join the John Clements Talent Community.

About the author:

KC is a graduate of BS Psychology from Miriam College. She enjoys basketball, billiards, tennis, and plays the piano, banduria, and guitar. She also practices Mixology for fun and finds barbeque parties the best way to unwind with friends and family. KC believes that while one always has to perform their best at work, they should never compromise their mental and personal well-being.

--

--