Negotiating Your Next Pay Raise by Saab Magora

Shiela Manalo
John Clements Lookingglass
3 min readOct 25, 2019

October 10, 2019 was a truly amazing day! I was able to attend and be part of the organizing committee of the FCC x MAP Women Expo and Forum 2019, “Inspired Conversations: Nothing Left Unsaid,” held at the Marriott Grand Ballroom.

Hearing amazing women CEOs from various industries share their experiences in the corporate and business world was a mind-blowing experience! It was a blast! Everything that I’ve heard from the forum totally challenged my millennial perspective. And if I may add, having to start work at exactly 5:00 AM was all worth it because of the event’s success!

One session that struck me most was Faye Corcuera’s talk, “Negotiating Your Next Pay Raise.” It is a sensitive yet very important topic everyone, especially women (who have a lot of other things to consider like taking care of kids, maintaining the household, and more), should be more aware of. Then I asked myself — “When should I ask for a pay raise? How can I get myself noticed so that I can get a pay raise?”

Aside from doing your best at work and more, you also have to find out what motivates you, what keeps you going to work, what your purpose is. Sometimes, I ask myself why I continue to work as a sales consultant, when it doesn’t really provide commissions despite bringing in revenue. But then I realized that it’s not always how much you earn that determines how valuable you are. It’s the exposure you get and the learning experiences you gain from the organization, the resiliency you develop from dealing with people from all walks of life, and knowing that you work for a purpose that measures your worth.

So don’t wait for the next appraisal season. If you think that it’s time to discuss your IDP with your superior, set that meeting and talk to him/her about how you’d want to succeed in the organization. It’s always a two-way process. Let them see how valuable you are; that way, it’s a win-win situation.

Please visit and join the John Clements Talent Community.

About the author:

Saab is currently an MBA-Marketing student at De La Salle University-Manila. She is also a part time writer/blogger and wedding planner.

--

--