The Impact of Purdue Day of Giving

Purdue Bands & Orchestras
the Lounge
Published in
2 min readApr 24, 2019

By Mackenzie Joefreda

Because of my involvement with Purdue Bands & Orchestras, I have been given opportunities I would have never dreamt of having in college. I have traveled around the world, have held various leadership positions, and have formed friendships that will last a lifetime! My reason for joining the band department was to continue my love for baton twirling, but it exceeded my expectations and gave me so much more than that.

I am a junior on the All-American Twirling Team, and auxiliary unit of the “All-American” Marching Band. Next year will be my second year as a student leader and the All-American Twirling Team Captain! Other leadership roles I’ve taken on through the band department include the Outreach Team Leader through the Volunteer Management Teams, a student representative for the Band Advisory Board, Purdue Twirling’s Social Media Coordinator, and an Editorial Contributor for the department’s online magazine, the Lounge.

Through all of this, I have had the opportunity to create relationships and network with many exceptional people, whether it be other current students, band staff, or alumni. I’ve also been able to travel with the “All-American” Marching Band to two bowl games, one in California and one in Tennessee, Ireland for the Dublin St. Patrick’s Day Parade, and both University of Illinois and Michigan State campuses. In addition to these, I’ve also traveled to Florida for a Band Advisory Board meeting.

Because of your donations, all of this is possible — for myself, and every other student in our incredible department. Purdue Day of Giving is a great way to show how much each of us care about our bands and orchestras. Your gifts inspire current and upcoming students to take advantage of their time here, and show the importance of giving back so that the next generation can have amazing experiences like we once had!

--

--

Purdue Bands & Orchestras
the Lounge

Performance. Tradition. Innovation. Purdue Bands & Orchestras is home to over 1,000 non-music major students.