Why I’m Supporting PBO on Purdue Day of Giving

Purdue Bands & Orchestras
the Lounge
Published in
2 min readApr 26, 2021

By Mary Rose Florian

I’m donating to Purdue Bands and Orchestras so future boilermakers can take advantage of the wonderful opportunities PBO provides. Having been in the “real world” for only one short year, I have looked back at my time at Purdue and thought about the memories, lessons, and (of course) mistakes I made. Many of my best developmental points were within the Bands and Orchestras department. As many alumni can attest, their fondest Purdue memories are with the bands and orchestras. From your first pre-game on the field, to the last concert on stage, and absolutely every rehearsal shenanigan between, many have and will experience the thrills and joys of PBO.

As a leader within the department, I was blessed with the opportunity every day to give back to a department that had given me so much in the few years prior. From this leadership experience, I was able to secure a position in the highly competitive Leadership Development Program at Textron Inc. All of the leaders I talk to at work think highly of “band kids” in general — trust me, we’re the cool kids!! Even more “at-home” for me, I was more than blessed with a leadership scholarship for my last semester at Purdue, so I stepped into Textron with a little bit off my shoulders to worry about, financially.

Having been the average, middle-class college kid, I truly could not be where I am today without PBO. The professors took a chance on my leadership, the students collaborated (and goofed off) with me, and alumni granted me the gift of financial assistance. Every day, I wish I could be back on that field for that “one more” run through. Donating on Day of Giving helps me think I’m giving a little help to another student that’s like me.

We learned in 2020 that every day is important, every vote matters, and everyone has a part to play to stay strong. I’m going to do my part and commit to donate, even if it’s just a bit. As we boilermakers know — just gotta get “one brick higher.”

-Mary Rose Florian, Class of 2019

--

--

Purdue Bands & Orchestras
the Lounge

Performance. Tradition. Innovation. Purdue Bands & Orchestras is home to over 1,000 non-music major students.