Should You Ever Write for a Content Mill?

Despite the bad rap, mills offer some unique benefits

Amanda Holland
The Lucky Freelancer
4 min readJan 21, 2020

--

Take a look at any resource, forum, or website for freelance writers, and you’ll see a common theme: Never, ever, ever work for a content mill! They’re the epitome of evil, they pay dreadful rates, and they are a scourge on the entire freelance world. No self-respecting writer should stoop to working for a mill!

And yet, it may not be as bad as it seems. Sure, there is some truth to these dire descriptions of content mills. However, I don’t agree with the idea that they are all inherently bad, or that a “real” freelancer should completely eschew them.

I’ve worked for several different mills. Some I’ve quit after a few months, while others have been part of my working life for several years. Why?

Because content mills provide me with some advantages I don’t get in other parts of my freelance business: stable income, consistent work, and predictable pay.

Stable income

Let’s discuss one of the most well-known disadvantages of mills first: low pay. Most mills pay far less per word than one can make writing for direct clients or publications.

However, a low per-word rate doesn’t necessarily translate to a low hourly rate.

Most mills focus on pumping out basic articles, blog posts, and SEO content for their clients. Even when clients have specific keywords or style requirements, most of these assignments are dead easy to write.

I may spend several hours researching an article on a niche topic for one of my clients. I’ll find studies, statistics, and reliable sources. The rate I charge for these articles accounts for my research time and the depth of knowledge in the final article.

Content mill articles require far less time and effort. I can write SEO blogs quickly enough to earn a nice hourly rate. With content mill assignments, I know how fast I can write and exactly what I’ll earn for each article, which means I can count on a specific amount of income for every hour I spend writing.

Consistent work

One of the toughest parts of freelance life is the inconsistency. There are busy and slow times, and that can make budgeting and managing income a pain. Sometimes I spend all my time during a slow spell bringing in new clients, and then I’m overwhelmed when my original clients return to their normal schedules.

At a content mill, work is always available.

In my experience, I can find assignments to pick up whenever I want, which is great when things are slow with my other clients. When I’m busier with other work (or just life in general), I can just lower my mill workload accordingly.

Predictable pay

Who loves creating invoices, sending them to clients, and then waiting for an indeterminate amount of time for payment? Not me.

Most content mills pay on a regular schedule; sometimes as frequently as every week.

With a content mill gig, you can count on a regular income without the hassle of invoicing, reminding, and dealing with late-paying clients. Most mills also provide you with a Form 1099 statement of income as well, which can make filing taxes a little easier.

Choosing the right mill

While you may not want to rely on content mills for 100% of your freelance income, you may not want to write them off entirely. Many mills accept writers who don’t have much professional experience as long as they can pass a grammar test or write a decent sample.

If you have trouble acquiring clients because you’re just starting out and/or you don’t have a portfolio of published work yet, writing for a mill can provide practice and income while you build your freelance business.

If you decide to write for a mill to supplement your other freelance income, there are a couple of things to keep in mind. There are countless mills out there, and some are better than others. Unfortunately, you can’t always tell right away whether a mill will be good or not.

There are some warning signs, however. I’d advise you to steer clear of mills that offer bonuses for quality or make you write on spec. “Quality-related bonuses” may be code for inconsistent, nit-picky editing and constantly changing standards. Writing on spec requires you to spend time on a piece without knowing that you’ll get paid for it.

Is working at a mill right for you? Only you can determine that. But before you write off all content mills forever, take a minute to think about whether they can provide some benefits to you as a freelancer. You may find that spending some of your work time on simple content mill articles can be advantageous.

We’re looking for writers. Learn more here.

--

--

Amanda Holland
The Lucky Freelancer

Freelance writer, math nerd, avid reader, chocolate enthusiast.