The Biggest Mistake I Made When I Started Freelancing

Some jobs are just not worth it

Amanda Holland
The Lucky Freelancer
4 min readJan 8, 2020

--

Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

I love my career as a freelancer, but it hasn’t been a smooth road to get to this point. I’ve been freelancing as a writer and editor for over a decade, and I’ve definitely made my share of mistakes along the way.

Of course, some of the mistakes I made at the beginning of my career were probably unavoidable. However, there are some errors I could have avoided simply by taking the time to research before jumping in. If I could go back in time to the beginning of my freelance career, I’d give myself some specific advice and tips. But the number one thing I would say is this:

Don’t accept low-paying work just because it’s available.

Starting out

When I started freelancing, I did it because I needed the money. I’d been picking up occasional editing side gigs for friends and coworkers for several years at this point, but that was in addition to my full-time job.

When I quit that job to stay home with my children, I spent the first few years just keeping my little ones alive. But once they got older, I wanted to contribute to my family’s finances.

I figured I could turn my experience writing and editing into a freelance job, but I wasn’t sure where to start. So I turned to Upwork and found countless listings for freelance writing positions. I was excited — there were so many opportunities for me! I could start working and bringing in money immediately!

Knowledge is power

What I didn’t realize at the time was that the majority of the jobs I was seeing were paying bottom-of-the-barrel rates. I was anxious to start making money, so I didn’t take the time to do any research into what a fair rate for high-quality content looked like. I started creating well-researched, error-free articles for abysmal rates. After Upwork took its cut, I was making far less than $5 per hour.

I look back at these jobs and cringe. I think even at the time I had a hunch that my work was worth more than that, but I was dealing with imposter syndrome and tight finances, so I took what I could get. If I could go back in time, I’d tell myself to avoid the trap of entry-level gigs that pay far below minimum wage.

If I had just spent a few hours learning about the freelance writing world, reading advice from other freelancers, or finding information on standard rates for writer and editors, I could have avoided the months I spent working for clients who wanted to pay the lowest possible rates. I might have been able to get a better sense of the quality of my work and what it was worth to legit clients. I could have encouraged myself to fight that imposter syndrome and set rates that reflect the real value of my skills and expertise.

Moving on

I’m happy to say I only spent a few months on those low-paying Upwork jobs. Once I developed a better understanding of the market and the available opportunities, I was able to move on to far better jobs where my experience and quality of work were valued. My current rates are far more than what I was earning in those early days. I have far more confidence in myself knowing that I’m delivering top-notch work to clients who truly value it.

Staying strong

It can be really tempting to work for low rates, especially if you are just starting out, if you need money fast, or if you struggle with self-confidence. But the age-old advice to entrepreneurs applies to freelancers too:

Don’t work for free. (Or basically free, I might add.)

So if you’re just starting as a freelancer (in any industry), I’d advise you to take the time to evaluate where you fit in the market. How much value can you deliver to your clients? What are your time, expertise, and skills worth in your niche? Be honest, but don’t sell yourself short just because you’re new.

Charging a fair rate can help you land better clients and give you the chance to hone your craft. You’ll be able to contribute to the advancement of your industry and push back against clients who think it’s acceptable to take advantage of freelancers.

Unfortunately, I can’t go back in time and give myself this advice. But hopefully, I can help others avoid this particular mistake. Know your worth, and make sure your clients know it too!

We’re looking for writers. Learn more here.

--

--

Amanda Holland
The Lucky Freelancer

Freelance writer, math nerd, avid reader, chocolate enthusiast.