We were so blind

Science fiction comes naturally when it’s not fiction

Lucy Ogilvie
The Lucy Ogilvie Archives

--

‘My foolish young mind, normally so unwaveringly patriotic, held no thought for queen and country from the first instant I’d laid my eyes on the enemy. I was eight years old, and of course back then I, nor any of my naive countrymen, didn’t understand the immense capabilities of the machine. I still remember the masterful pull of its eyes, they drew you in; like a gnat to the heat of an exposed ankle. Drummond knew, of course he did. He knew something was wrong. Why else did he keep putting it in the wardrobe? But I was hooked. Little did I know Satan would be so attractive.’

‘A ‘Furby’ they called it. All the kids wanted one. And I, unaware of the catastrophic implications, wanted more. I couldn’t stop. I was an addict pining for the awkward embrace only it could provide. It was only when the Ruskies were standing on our front lawn shouting about Stalin that I realised this could have all been prevented.’

A short extract from L.E. Ogilvie’s’ ‘Dances with Furbies’.

--

--