Requiem for the Dark Days

Cecilie Harris
The Lullaby Diaries
1 min readAug 29, 2016
(Image taken with my iPhone)

It’s looking a little shinier now
as the days of my dark years
slowly dissolve into ashes
bit by bit.

Let whiter days gently emerge
into an astounding triumph.
The years of tears and mourning
gradually dimming
into a forgotten psalm.
My skin still playing host
to my faded lacrimosa.
Gradually overshadowed by
the sound of victorious trumpets.

This torment shall be suffocated
as I claw my way out of this darkened cave
majestically arising
like the perfect movie scene.
Eternal light, shine on me.
Trickled thoughts gathered by their throne
an army arisen
gleaming in their defeat
of my persistent shadows.

Let the dark days tremble in fear
as they await their eternal rest.

--

--