Calling Bullshit On… Winter Bugs In April

Ashling Keane O'Sullivan
The M Word
Published in
2 min readApr 21, 2017

Every year, winter rolls around and without fail, the winter bugs, coughs and colds arrive. Taking temperatures, administering pain meds and lots of fluids, we’ve all been there and these bugs are part and parcel of family life. For some unknown reason, our house seems to have been hit particularly hard this year and so now in April, I’m calling bullshit on winter bugs.

We are very lucky that the illnesses have been merely bugs and viruses but they just seem to be incessant right now. Since Christmas in our home we have already had: six separate tummy bugs, five head colds, several rounds of sinusitis, two ear infections, one round of tonsillitis and a partridge in a pear tree.

I feel it is pertinent to mention that the cat also had a tummy bug and the dog suffered an acute attack of colitis.

The small people in the house have suffered with the most illnesses this year. To be fair to them, they rally quickly and return to school/preschool where I fear they may be licking the floors or the inside of bins because before you know it, another bug arrives into the house.

With the latest round of tummy bug to hit, it struck me that love truly is picking chip vomit from your daughter’s hair without batting an eyelid in the middle of the night.

In the meantime, the washing machine cannot keep up with the volume of sheets, towels and pyjamas being thrown into it. On the plus side of things, perhaps the washing machine will break down from over use and I can get one of those fancy ones with a digital display. Maybe even one that talks! Hey, a girl can dream, can’t she?

So, in calling Bullshit on bugs today, I’m wondering what I can do to keep them at bay? Do I build a massive bonfire of bedding and germ infested cuddly toys? Should I daub our front door with red paint? Perhaps, I could consider smoking out the house or hanging warning bells from the necks of the children?

Or maybe I could reign in my impatience and ride out the bugs like every other household. Stock up on probiotics and ensure that everyone eats well and gets plenty fresh air. After all my GP tells me it is not uncommon for small children to get ten or so viruses in a year. Anyway, summer is just around the corner and with it comes hay fever season. Stay tuned folks!

--

--

Ashling Keane O'Sullivan
The M Word

Mum of two learning as I go along. Wife, cake enthusiast, REM fanatic. Digital Marketing, PR. Writer at The M Word. Twitter: @AshlingOSulliv5