I’m In Mourning. Pay Day Mourning

Yes, I miss it. The buzz of pay day. Now that I’m a full-time stay at home Mum, that day is gone.

Louise Jones
The M Word
2 min readSep 23, 2016

--

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not moaning about the lack of cash,(although more would be nice. Financially we’re ok. It’s just that feeling of holding your payslip on a Friday and licking your lips knowing there is now a whole new wad of cash sitting in your account .

I miss the payday Friday staffroom talk. All the ladies together, end of the month stress slowly seeping out through our souls and giddy at the thoughts of those delicious beverages waiting for us at 6pm .

🎶 🎶 She works hard for her money 🎶 🎶

I miss the payday stroll through make up counters. A new gloss? Yesssh sir. Sparkly eyeliner? Why not. Ruby Red nail polish? Chuck it in the basket, I’ll never use it, but nice to have it .

Two new tops, a bra, some mock jewellery, a pair of pumps.

Ching Ching Ching 💵 💵

Payday makes you feel a bit more like a part of society. Not just because of your contribution to taxes etc, just that feeling of you’ve work really hard and you’re reaping your rewards.You’re an adult and you feel like an adult !!!

Of course what went in always went out just as quick, but that felt great too,any debts or overdrafts that you lay awake mid-month worrying about, are now all cleared. You’re free !!!

So what can us Mammys do to help bubble up that pay day Friday feeling?

I don’t want to hear the words “ children’s allowance ” It’s impossible to get excited over that. Yes, it’s great to have it but I can’t compare running into the supermarket buying nappies to running into Boots buying a shiny new cosmetic.

I’ve no doubt that I sound like a selfish brat with a refusal to grow up,but I can’t help it , I miss my personal pay slip!!

So any kind readers who wish to help me rejuvenate that wonderful payday feeling,

(without the actual pay)

Answers on a postcard ….

--

--