Oh, Grandma, how modern you are!

Ashling Keane O'Sullivan
The M Word
Published in
4 min readNov 18, 2016

My last surviving grandparent or ‘Nana’ as we used to call her, died two years ago. I often think of her and especially of the great times that were had when I used to visit her whilst young. It got me thinking about how different those visits are to the ones my children enjoy with both their grandmothers today.

Now I wasn’t born before the ark. I’m 41 but Ireland has massively changed in the past twenty years and grandmothers have changed with it. When I was little and visited Nana in the country she used to wear a housecoat over her clothes and a hairnet on her hair to keep clean. She made her own bread every second day, first on the open fire and later on the range. She used to make scones too and they were delicious straight from the oven with a dollop of butter and a mug of tea.

Oh the tea!!! I can’t accurately describe the unique and delicious taste of tea made from tea leaves and water from a well in West Clare.

Nana didn’t drive so we walked where we needed to go. A treat was a bar of Dairy Milk chocolate and playtime revolved around dominos, card games or stories. If Nana was required to take care of us (like when my mother was busy birthing a new arrival), there were elaborate plans put in place for us to relocate to the countryside or for her to come to town for a few days. We loved those trips and had many adventures both in the country and when Nana came to town.

Nana’s house and garden contained multiple curiosities. The sitting room or ‘parlour’ as it was referred to, was dotted with old paraffin lamps, house plants, peacock feathers and exotic ornaments sent by distant relatives from around the world. Nana loved clocks and never threw one away. Her house was filled with all sorts of small clocks. Many needed to be wound up to function and on entering her bedroom, you would be greeted with the gentle sounds of several clocks ticking.

Fast forward a generation. My children love spending time with all their grandparents but I think there is a very special place in their hearts for their grandmothers. At the drop of a hat, these superwomen whisk in with their cross over vehicles to look after the children while I hightail it to the dentist/doctor etc. However, it’s not just about looking after the grandchildren anymore. Time with your grandmother is serious play time and includes going to soft play areas, the cinema, McDonald’s, playgrounds and best of all to the toy or sweetie shop. Modern grandmothers are cool and know all about Paw Patrol and DocMcStuffins. Modern grandmothers are also savvy and combine all they learned about raising her own children and giving it a modern twist.

On top of that Modern grandmothers looks great. They knows their own style, designers and labels and what suits them. Today’s grandmothers look way younger than they did when I was little or maybe I only see that now that I am older!?

It’s not easy raising children or being a grandparent in an increasingly tech led society but grandmothers are increasingly stepping up to the plate with smartphones and social media presence galore. As a 41 year old I find it impossible to keep up with with technology and I applaud any older generation who embraces and adapts to the current digital changes.

I remember as a child being excited when Nana came to visit. Sometimes she traveled to London to visit one of her sons and we would be fit to burst to discover what wonders were in her suitcase for us when she returned. (She was a MASSIVE fan of the London street markets and could arrive home with anything).

My grandmother told us great stories of her life. She nursed in London during World War II and we loved to hear her stories of that time as well as anecdotes about growing up in West Clare. Now I see my children delighted to see their grandmothers when they visit and excited to tell them all the news. Today, my children hear stories about when my husband and I were young from their grandmothers and they are equally transfixed.

Times have changed, treats and technology may all have changed but grandmothers and their integral roles in family life have stayed the same. Strong, loving, giving women who adore their grandchildren and who are generous with their time, love and hugs. Long may that continue.

For My Grandmother; Nana Quinlivan.

--

--

Ashling Keane O'Sullivan
The M Word

Mum of two learning as I go along. Wife, cake enthusiast, REM fanatic. Digital Marketing, PR. Writer at The M Word. Twitter: @AshlingOSulliv5