The mouse was saved, but I cried buckets

The M Word
The M Word
Published in
1 min readJun 27, 2016
Tears, lots of tears

Comment of the week! Ger Devaney gives us all a lesson in what it’s like to be tired and emotional while pregnant…

“I was six months pregnant when I came home to find a cat had caught a mouse in our back garden.

Couldn’t handle the drama of the mouses life ending there and then when I was so full of life. So Icalled my lovely man home from work and like Joaquin Phoenix in Gladiator I sent him and the cat off to do battle for the mouse’s honour.

I remember my brave gladiator was equipped with a metal pail….I do not believe the cat had access to the same luxury and by this reason, the mouse was quickly emancipated from his probable feline end.

I sat for hours howling to the ceiling about the unfairness of the life of mice, how lucky I was to have a partner so responsive to every hormonal whim that came his unfortunate way and generally any other thing I could think of to cry about….watching TED (the movie) being torn in two the previous evening (again, a movie, it didnt really happen) gave me a good hours howling. ‘

--

--

The M Word
The M Word

Motherhood not all it's cracked up to be? Don't worry, you're not alone.....welcome to The M Word, for women who happen to be parents.